Should I get IRacing?

• Thread starter michrulejj
  • 145 comments
United States
Ohio
michrulejj
I seen IRacing and it looks very fun and interesting. I am just getting into racing sims (always been a racing fan on console) on pc. I came across this and it looks very good. Especially the oval racing with stock cars. I was wondering is it worth it? It is currently $15 for 3 months and I was wondering should I get it. Also what are the prices for the cars or how do you get the other ones posted on the site? And another question how is the game set up? Also I do not have a wheel and thought about buying a xbox 360 controller as I dont want to spend a lot on a wheel. And just tell me why I should get this.

You need a wheel, you can technically use a mouse or joystick, but it's no fun and not worth it to pay for the service without a wheel.
Amazon sells DFGTs for about $85 used, about $120 new

Check out the promo code thread in here somewhere if you're serious though

Cars are $12, tracks are $15, and there's a 10 & 20% discount for buying in bulk of 3 & 6. It gets expensive when you start buying tracks, but you can run the base set of cars and tracks if you want.

Last edited:
You shouldn't get it. If your not going for a wheel you will have more fun racing on a console in my honest opinion.

Sim racing is very expensive, I wont lie. Because if you get hooked on it, things to get just rolls on. Starting with a wheel, then a better computer, better or more screens, button box. And another wheel (you just have to test the more expensive one) Pedal set with a load cell brake pedal.

So the price for iRacing will seem cheap in the end.

But if you seriously plan to try it out on a controller. Just don't. Tracks are laser scanned so you can feel every bump, why pay for something like this when GT5 will give you just the same feeling.. No feeling at all.