If you overwrite your current progress PS3 system GT5 save file with an older/less progress back-up GT5 save file, you will lose whatever(cars, tickets and stats) you've gained on that PS3 system GT5 save file.
If you overwrite your current progress PS3 system GT5 save file with the same current progress GT5 save back-up file, your GT5 data will remain the same