Fanatec Podium Direct Drive Wheel Bases Thread

Discussion in 'Sim Racing Hardware' started by super_gt, Sep 14, 2017.

  1. Jason Yu

    Jason Yu

    Messages:
    85
  2. Dev Nibor

    Dev Nibor

    Messages:
    35
    Don't see a reason why this shouldn't be possible.
    You have about 14cm of playing room on the far sides of the brackets and 3cm of playing room where the bracket's connect to the base.
    Please note that on my pics my monitor is pushed back for a reason, I race exclusively in VR.
    If I want I can position my monitor right to the point where its level with the display of the DD unit.
     
  3. PzR Slim

    PzR Slim Premium

    Messages:
    6,306
    Location:
    England
    Great setup! It's almost identical to mine.
    [​IMG]

    I really like the wheel mounting solution, it just looks right and really tidy. I think I would have chosen that solution but I need my wheel to be as high as it is because I have a Next Level seat mover under my seat so I sit a little higher than you.
    [​IMG]
     
    jabski, Deadpool, Jason Yu and 3 others like this.
  4. F1Aussie

    F1Aussie

    Messages:
    126
    Here is mine if it is any help. Just got the rig setup about 3 days ago.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Jason Yu

    Jason Yu

    Messages:
    85
    Looking good man!
     
  6. F1Aussie

    F1Aussie

    Messages:
    126
    Thanks, I love it!
     
  7. super_gt

    super_gt

    Messages:
    3,845
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    If someone is curious DD1 on a Playseat Challenge:


    "It takes it very well. But there is some forward motion flex and I think it a bit annoying. Also the chair is front-heavy and tips over forward if I don't put a weight on the frame at the back of the."
     
    user3392345 likes this.
  8. super_gt

    super_gt

    Messages:
    3,845
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Barry Rowland has a DD2:

     
  9. user3392345

    user3392345

    Messages:
    661
    This pedals looks like they made them with parts from Skynet´s T-800 :D
    Awesome.
     
    super_gt and Jason Yu like this.
  10. Jason Yu

    Jason Yu

    Messages:
    85
    I'm looking at your P1 set up and I'm wondering if your main uprights are longer than my GT1. You seem to have a reasonable amount of clearance between your wheel deck and pedals.

    20190829_233624.jpg

    20190829_233651.jpg

    But I think since I tried to position my pedals higher it seems deceiving. If I were to get the DD bracket, the wheel rim would hit my legs because the motor would be at that horizontal cross plane and my chair won't go any lower. It's at the bottom height already.

    There is a bit of flex from my wheel deck. It's a little annoying.

    Dang... :(
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2019
  11. super_gt

    super_gt

    Messages:
    3,845
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Без име.png
    дължина.png

    From the 780mm you have to remove the height of the base profile which is 160mm and you get 620mm.
     
  12. c4rLo5

    c4rLo5

    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    I don't think we'll see a review from Barry until Fanatec's Software is released though.
     
  13. Krassi

    Krassi

    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Guys, do you saw this?

    69961861_2482062038543466_3017350044543090688_n.jpg
     
    F1Aussie, kalakanto, c4rLo5 and 5 others like this.
  14. super_gt

    super_gt

    Messages:
    3,845
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    From the comments below the video.:)
     
    c4rLo5 likes this.
  15. c4rLo5

    c4rLo5

    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    I hope that means he has the software already.
     
    super_gt likes this.
  16. user3392345

    user3392345

    Messages:
    661
    Why so fixed on the software?
    The base have all needed options build in and you can change all settings live on the fly while ingame.
     
    F1Aussie likes this.
  17. c4rLo5

    c4rLo5

    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Yep, that's what I've obviously been doing. Just would rather the convenience of tweaking the settings beforehand and not having to change things in-game. Having more than 5 presets would be great as well as having them named and automatically applied to the game at launch. Even with the extended delay, I'm still eager to use the software, as I'm sure others are.
     
  18. super_gt

    super_gt

    Messages:
    3,845
    Location:
    Bulgaria
  19. Krassi

    Krassi

    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Not surprised that awesome super high end stuff is coming from Fanatec! When you have their ground under your feet - sky is the limit! Literaly!
     
  20. user3392345

    user3392345

    Messages:
    661
    At 8:47 ..... :D:D
     
    c4rLo5 likes this.
  21. bjosim

    bjosim Premium

    Messages:
    348
    Oohh! Yes :) Podium pedals arriving, the new software, lots of good stuff! Nice :) And the software has the functions I was hoping for!
     
    user3392345 and super_gt like this.
  22. super_gt

    super_gt

    Messages:
    3,845
    Location:
    Bulgaria
     
    user3392345 likes this.
  23. user3392345

    user3392345

    Messages:
    661
    Hehe, great and entertaining review :cheers:
    22:55 :lol::lol::lol:
     
    super_gt likes this.
  24. user3392345

    user3392345

    Messages:
    661
    Is there a way to read out operating hours on the dd1?
     
  25. Krassi

    Krassi

    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Bulgaria
  26. Maximino

    Maximino

    Messages:
    15
    So the FANALAB software exists!
    Where can we download it?
     
  27. SimRacer925

    SimRacer925

    Messages:
    43
    its in closed beta and not released to the public yet.
     
    super_gt likes this.
  28. Maximino

    Maximino

    Messages:
    15
    Oh noes, I was genuinely happy, I thought the wait was over...
    Thanks for the info.
     
  29. super_gt

    super_gt

    Messages:
    3,845
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    There will certainly be a new QR:
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2019
  30. super_gt

    super_gt

    Messages:
    3,845
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    [​IMG]
    If you hold the wheel base vertically like this, you can remove these bolts(which are holding the motor):

    bolts.png
    without misaligned the motor inside the box and then you can put front mounting bracket under the wheel base:

    скоба.png
    and front hard mount the wheel base with longer bolts.

    This is just a theory and it may not work!
    If anyone's crazy enough to try it, keep me updated.:gtpflag:

    Something to consider:
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2019