GTHD General Question Thread

Discussion in 'Gran Turismo HD' started by buickgnx88, Oct 12, 2006.

  1. Dave A

    Dave A Premium

    Messages:
    27,439
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    No it wasn't, GT3 and GT2000 were not the same game. GT2000 didn't become GT3 they effectively wen't back to the drawing board and scrapped GT2000 which was meant to be little more than GT2 with better graphics.
     
  2. ALPHA

    ALPHA

    Messages:
    4,334
    Well, Gran Turismo 2000 was initially an exercise in familiarising with the Emotion Engine; the PS2’s CPU. As GT–HD is currently being used to demonstrate the PS3’s power, the same thing was happening in late 1999, with a PS2 port of the nearly released GT2—GT–HD Classic anyone? So as Polyphony continued to develop their GT2 port, it was coined GT2000, as it was intended to be released the same year. However in true Polyphony style, the now titled Gran Turismo 2000 A–spec took a little longer than expected, and shipped on the 28th of April 2001 as Gran Turismo 3 A–spec in Japan.

    I’ll be back with some proof…

    Bottom line is, GT–HD is GT–HD; continued PS Network updates may take the Premium mode close to a GT5 type title, but whatever GT–HD does become, it wont be called GT5; because that’ll be their next cash cow.

    No, there is only one game; it’s called GT–HD and it has two modes, Premium and Classic. A Japanese and South East Asian release is to be expected first in Spring 2007—bear in mind that’s in regards to Japan’s seasons, and after sufficient testing and consumer feedback it will be released to America and the usual SCEE conglomerate.
     
  3. Dave A

    Dave A Premium

    Messages:
    27,439
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    GT:HD simply stands for Gran Turismo high definition, GT:HD classic is not the same as GT:HD premium, they arn't siomply two ways to play the same game they are two seperate games altogether by pretty much any definition I can think of to class two products as two different games. GT4 had two modes of play with the GT mode and arcade mode GT Premium has two different games on one disk the two are not related beyond the fact that they are both Gran Turismo games. What constitutes a game being different to another one? If you buy one of thoes 100 classics on one disk type games, are they all classed as the same game? You can clearly see that GT:HD Premium is not the same as GT:HD classic. Btw GT1, GT2 and GT3 all ran on the same game engine yet are all different games, is this merely because they all came on different disks or because they were released at different times? It shouldn't be either of thoes.
     
  4. Solid Lifters

    Solid Lifters

    Messages:
    19,311
    Location:
    United States
  5. G.T

    G.T

    Messages:
    11,450
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Interesting video.

    "75% of the driving physics are from previous versions, 25% will be new."

    If they really take the correct parts from the previous versions and add to them, it could be pretty realistic indeed.

    It takes 1 designer 6 months to model a car? I wouldn't be surprised if there are only a couple hundered cars available at release og GT5, depending on how big the PD team is...
     
  6. Dave A

    Dave A Premium

    Messages:
    27,439
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Bear in mind it takes 1 designer 6 months, not the whole process takes 6 months. Also bear in mind that they won't be working on only one car at a time. I don't expect GT4 numbers, but probably more than we got in GT3 and with additional cars being available to download after the games released we may see the content increase quite a lot. Also as Solid pointed out in another thread, it looks like we're getting engine swaps.
     
  7. lnsomniac

    lnsomniac

    Messages:
    1
    There will be engine swaps? Excellent! :dopey: :lol:
     
  8. martialstax

    martialstax

    Messages:
    458
    So help a congenital idiot (me) figure out the difference between GT HD Classic, GT HD Premium and GT5.

    Exactly what is the difference between classic and premium? Did I read it right that they are both going to be on the same disc? Or am I confused? Is GT HD just a cleaned up version of GT4 for the PS3? Is GT5 an entirely new game?
     
  9. Dave A

    Dave A Premium

    Messages:
    27,439
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    GT:HD classic = GT4 running on PS3 ie GT4 but with higher resolution textures, more cars in each race ect. GT:HD Premium = preview of GT5 using proper PS3 graphics and physics ect but it's just a preview. GT5 = sequel to GT4 currently in development will probably not be released for a couple of years yet.
     
    land sea air likes this.
  10. land sea air

    land sea air

    Messages:
    3,987
    Location:
    United States
    well put live4speed, that should clear it up for anyone that reads that post, at first i was thinking of waiting for gt5 outright instead of buying gthd when it comes out, now im thinking of getting it if just for the classic aspect, it would be gt4 except better, and guarunteed to work on the ps3 100%. i only hope they will allow somthing more than just a few credits and lisences to be transfered since ive worked hard on gt4 to get where i am

    EDIT: i also hope that PD planned in advance so we can see all or most of the cars from gt4 plus many more in the next full installment
     
  11. martialstax

    martialstax

    Messages:
    458
    Thanks for the answer, live4speed. That helps a lot.
     
  12. super_fla

    super_fla

    Messages:
    98
    does anyone knows if GTHD works with 720p lcd, or its only a 1080p game??

    i know it supports 1080p , but my lcd only can do up tp 720p.

    is it ok ? will the game have an option to select between sevral resolutions ?
    or i need a new TV just to be able to play it?

    thanks in advance
     
  13. kragbees

    kragbees

    Messages:
    644
    Even if GT HD only has 1080p resolution, more realistic AI and 25% new engine, it would be good enough for me !
     
  14. super_fla

    super_fla

    Messages:
    98

    any real answer ?
     
  15. Dave A

    Dave A Premium

    Messages:
    27,439
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I don't see why not, TV's are able to up or downscale an image so even if GT:HD has no direct option for 720p though I don't see why it won't there will be a setting that your TV will be able take advantage of. However there is no official word on the resolution options of GT:HD yet as far as I'm aware.
     
  16. Drew22

    Drew22 Premium

    Messages:
    1,210
    Has anyone downloaded GTHD from the Sony store yet? I can't find it, says it was released for download on 12-24. Just got a PS3 and really want to try the HD.

    EDIT: Nevermind, got it figured out.
     
  17. buickgnx88

    buickgnx88 Premium

    Messages:
    5,642
    Location:
    United States
    know what i really hate is when newbies come in here, and post like 4 or 5 new posts, and half of them end up getting locked anyways....:crazy:
     
  18. buickgnx88

    buickgnx88 Premium

    Messages:
    5,642
    Location:
    United States
    when i say 4 or 5 posts, i mean threads, just to clarify myself
     
  19. mrnoname

    mrnoname

    Messages:
    118
    is the smoke effect like GT4
     
  20. MidnightRiot

    MidnightRiot

    Messages:
    154
    since i found out gt hd required you to buy cars online for the game, i was dead sure i wasn't getting a ps3. after a while i found out gt hd and gt5 are two different games.

    will gt5 require paid online downloads for cars and tracks?
     
  21. The Vanishing Boy

    The Vanishing Boy Premium

    Messages:
    9,000
    Location:
    Philippines
    -> Well I don't think so, thats the main reason on why GTHD was cancelled is that because of all the bad press about the microtranactions. GT5 will be very like GT4 (as in cars and track included in the game), the download contents will be updated content and features. But please correct me if I'm wrong guys. (:
     
  22. GT Pro

    GT Pro

    Messages:
    3,547
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes, although, since your LCD's native resolution isn't 1080p, expect some upscaling which will mean blurness/blockiness.

    Edit: Didn't see Live4speed's post.
     
  23. Drew22

    Drew22 Premium

    Messages:
    1,210
    Yes, in options you can choose between 720p or 1080i or set default for the TV you use.
    They've released a updated version, 1.15 I think they call it, it doesn't give any more tracks or cars, has to do with the accuracy of the times uploaded automatically after each race.


    I couldn't wait to get the PS3 and a HDTV just for GTHD, but am very dissapointed that there's no Force Feedback , which really sucks if you use a wheel. I also transfered GT4to the PS3 but again no force feedback so I'm using the PS2 still. The PS3 is great with the wireless controller and access to the Playstation Store with lots of free downloads, but since I only play GT my PS3 will sit idle until GT5 comes out or they get force feedback. But I understand there are licensing problems with Logitech and the owners of FF. If GT5 doesn't support FF I'll stick with GT4.
     
  24. Majin SSJ Eric

    Majin SSJ Eric

    Messages:
    386
    I read in PSM that they predict Sony will eventually realize the error of not including FF in the Sixaxis and will make it available in the future. Still sucks that we will have to buy new controllers when it should have been included in the original. I guess that's another money-making scam for Sony down the line....
     
  25. TheMoose

    TheMoose

    Messages:
    784
    You don't have to buy anything, just sell the PS3, get a 360 & play Forza!!:)
     
  26. Ocean

    Ocean

    Messages:
    48
    does the demo tell you everything you need to know to be able to take on a certain record? (ie, what tyres they used) or is it absolutly stupid like racing-line.org

    i havent been able to see the demo physically so..
     
  27. GTXLR

    GTXLR

    Messages:
    1,391
    IMO Tyre choice should be dependant on your control skill, preference and style!
    You should make the call as to what suits you best and gives you the best times!
     
  28. TheMoose

    TheMoose

    Messages:
    784
    When you go online to see what the records are you can click the name & see his video & all the info on tires, traction control etc.
     
  29. Ocean

    Ocean

    Messages:
    48
    thats good to hear, because im the kind of player who would still make a record for the cappucino on economy tires

    softest tyres = best time, why am I wrong? I still don't know why in the WRS they say "super-soft (or harder)"...why in sam hell would someone do that...every record at racingline was done on supersofts, i want more variety
     
  30. Jedi2016

    Jedi2016

    Messages:
    4,161
    Couple o' questions...

    The first is probably somewhat rhetorical. Was the Time Trial mode supposed to be a challenge? 'Cause it wasn't. One lap in each car, I had the whole thing "beat" in one sitting. Between restroom breaks while drinking coffee.

    1) Is there a way to see the entire leaderboard? It only shows me the top ten, plus my time. How many people are on the leaderboard? A few hundred? A few thousand? Giving me a numeric ranking doesn't mean much to me if I don't know where it falls within the overall group.

    2) Is it just me, or do the assists just flat-out suck? I mean, worse than GT3/4. I turned 'em on this afternoon just for kicks, and it felt like the car was... well... castrated. Drove like a pig, wouldn't leave a corner at more than 20mph. Pathetic. I'll take a car that's a bit twitchy in the back over those assists any day.

    3) Are we all running the same version, or are they updating it quietly without telling anyone? We all know about version 1.1. But I'm actually running version 1.16, downloaded as of last night. Is that what everone is running as of 1.1, or are they making "little" updates here and there before the "big" update of 1.2 or whatever?