GTP GT6 Photomode FAQ & Tutorial Depot

Discussion in 'GT6 Photo Mode' started by SlipZtrEm, Aug 20, 2013.

  1. Deko Wolf-GTPT

    Deko Wolf-GTPT

    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Portugal
    Call me old fashion and whatnot, but I hope that's not the final design for the button mapping. Every PS3 game (including GT6) has the X to confirm, and O to cancel.
    In the example showed it appears to be the other around. Typo maybe?
    I certainly hope so as this would confuse the heck out of me in photo mode.
     
  2. SlipZtrEm

    SlipZtrEm Staff Emeritus

    Messages:
    27,351
    Location:
    Canada
    I could be wrong, but that might be a relic of the preferred button mapping in Japan. IIRC they tend to use O for confirmation and X for back/cancel a lot more often.

    Slight update; seems the GT5 locations are returning, thanks to a mention on a website from Canuckistan. @Black Chamber found it, so credit to him!
     
  3. Deko Wolf-GTPT

    Deko Wolf-GTPT

    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Portugal
    Those were my initial thoughts, hence why I believe this is a simple quick Japanese to English example shot. It wouldn't make sense keeping it that way.

    Those are wonderful news! And for the first time in the series too. We never got to see any of GT4 locations return in GT5.
    I was going to be rather upset if those Japanese locations were missing in GT6.
     
  4. Black Chamber

    Black Chamber

    Messages:
    525
    Thank you SlipZtrEm!

    Me too! I love the atmosphere and history those Japanese locations provide me for my car porn. ;)
     
  5. andrea

    andrea

    Messages:
    4,031
    Original

    [​IMG]

    Post-processed

    [​IMG]

    Credit to Boabdulrahman for images​
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2013
    Ronin387 and iainoflo85 like this.
  6. CoolColJ

    CoolColJ

    Messages:
    4,850
    ugh too much banding - 8 bit colour....
     
    nanabu and dice1998 like this.
  7. Boabdulrahman

    Boabdulrahman

    Messages:
    1,331
    Location:
    Kuwait
    Not to be an a** but those are my images :)

    And also Slipz, feel free to PM about some of the photomode features, I could inform you about them so that you could update this thread.
     
    SlipZtrEm likes this.
  8. andrea

    andrea

    Messages:
    4,031
    Sorry mate, I didn't sleep at all and the forum was moving very fast. Forgive me.
     
  9. vrajdeber

    vrajdeber

    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Can't wait. Simply can't.
     
    syntex123 likes this.
  10. ZZ-II

    ZZ-II

    Messages:
    687
    i would love to drive arround in Ronda and taking some replay shots there :)
     
  11. sems4arsenal

    sems4arsenal Premium

    Messages:
    15,387
    Location:
    Egypt
    How do we link to full size images after the GTP update

    @SlipZtrEm
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2013
  12. SlipZtrEm

    SlipZtrEm Staff Emeritus

    Messages:
    27,351
    Location:
    Canada
    PM will be incoming, after I get the comps out of the way. But no rush, Bo - you should enjoy the game, and I'll have it as of Thursday or Friday anyways :)

    @sems4arsenal If you mean through Flickr, same as always. If you want to host the images on GTP, just upload them from the Upload a File button, and insert the full image. The thumbnail is the other option naturally, and it requires a click to view full size. The thumbnail size was decided by Jordan to allow three to fit cleanly side-to-side - I recognize it's a little small for our usual competition approach, but on the plus side, it encourages people to open them up to not miss the detail :)

    As for GT6 news, it appears Photomode functions largely the same, even if the interface has received a slight change:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ...they've even kept 3:2 as the default ratio, apparently. I don't have high hopes of being able to move outside of the track (or even recreating replay angles), but at least we won't have to suffer a high learning curve ;)
     
    andrea likes this.
  13. Primus Ortus

    Primus Ortus

    Messages:
    1,679
    Location:
    United States
    Low learning curve. Nice. :)
     
  14. RetroGiant

    RetroGiant

    Messages:
    2,380
    Location:
    United States
    Was really hoping for multiple focus points (hate not getting two fast moving vehicles in focus) and was hoping for photos from replay angles. I don't get why they took that feature out. I loved it in GT 4.
     
    dice1998 likes this.
  15. Lucas

    Lucas

    Messages:
    5,396
    Location:
    Argentina
    Do you guys now if the distance restriction for photographic standard cars is gone?
     
  16. dice1998

    dice1998 Premium

    Messages:
    6,762
    Location:
    United States
    I wonder if the Day 1 patch will change/enhance anything regarding photomode..
     
  17. SlipZtrEm

    SlipZtrEm Staff Emeritus

    Messages:
    27,351
    Location:
    Canada
    There are some comparison shots in the good, bad, and ugly thread that seem to hint at there not being a distance restriction anymore, but then again, they could be shots taken with a capture device. I haven't heard a confirmation one way or another yet.

    @dice1998 I doubt it.
     
    Lucas likes this.
  18. andrea

    andrea

    Messages:
    4,031
    I'm not sure if the restriction is gone but if you look at these you could definitely get more up close and personal with the new camera compared to the old camera. That's my assumption anyway.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    k12power, Wolfsatz and Nico_Ble99 like this.
  19. Nico_Ble99

    Nico_Ble99

    Messages:
    1,726
    Location:
    Germany
    Oh. My. GOD THAT RUF IS LOOKING ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!
    It comes very close to the premium cars :D
     
  20. gtuned

    gtuned

    Messages:
    4,771
    Location:
    United States
    Someone posted a shot that the restriction isn't gone, but you can get much closer.
     
  21. JP

    JP Premium

    Messages:
    125
    Only just started playing but how do you unlock the other Photo Travel locations as I only have the new ones listed? Do I need to do something in particular or will they just unlock as I play normally?
     
  22. Craze63AMG

    Craze63AMG

    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    United States
    Only 5 photo travel locations? Surely more can be unlocked?
     
  23. andrea

    andrea

    Messages:
    4,031
    I don't think there are any more. The scale of these locations are really grand. I guess they must have put all their time and effort into designing what you see. It's a fair trade I think.

    --

    I find that exporting photos in large batches takes longer compared to GT5. A minor gripe for someone who takes a lot of photos.

    Edit: Not really GT photo related but I think Flickr auto sharpens people's photos on here :odd:
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2013
  24. ThaSyn

    ThaSyn

    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    Belgium
    Weird those GT5 locations have not returned....
     
  25. Wolfsatz

    Wolfsatz

    Messages:
    3,930
    Location:
    United States
    I am really excited about the new Photo Travel locales, but I think it is a sin not to have all of the previous ones. PD should bring them back with an update or at least be able to win them with a seasonal event.

    Question for the thread...
    I exported all of these one by one, I could not see the option to export a whole batch as you did with GT5, am I missing something?


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And a mini Tribute to a Rally Racing Legend:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2013
    k12power likes this.
  26. The R!CE Guy

    The R!CE Guy

    Messages:
    1,531
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Press "select" when you're in your photo library. Then tick the boxes of all the images you want to export. Then click on the export button to the right.
     
  27. tpark103

    tpark103

    Messages:
    1,274
    Location:
    United States
  28. ADTR

    ADTR

    Messages:
    102
    That's jpg, an utturly useless format when it comes to photography, it just destroys the image. We should be able save in tiff, even better, a raw format like Nikon or Canon have, even if we'd get heavy files. At least we could make some nice prints.

    Edit:

    Here's gif I made of a picture going through photoshop. (Levels, lighting, colors & tone, sharpness & noise)

    [​IMG]

    Final result full resolution here
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2013
    GBO Possum and jtqmopar like this.
  29. G.T.Ace

    G.T.Ace

    Messages:
    9,979
    Location:
    Germany
    Has anyone found a workaround for the bugged lighting flares?
    I've mainly noticed them on Nürburgring, instead of a nice glow I get ugly squares from the headlights for example.
    It ruined some really cool pics from me already.
     
  30. hbc98

    hbc98

    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    United States
    how do I get my gt6 photos on to my phone/computer