GTP_WRS-Online Event 7: Crampons not needed

Discussion in 'WRS-OE Archive' started by PASM, Jan 11, 2018.

  1. EDK

    EDK Moderator

    Messages:
    15,815
    Location:
    United States
  2. Storm_SP17

    Storm_SP17

    Messages:
    3,505
    Location:
    England
    Confirming the Wednesday slot for EU. @PASM will add you on PSN shortly.

    Will be switching colours from what my colours were in the TT to the colours I have registered, although the "grey" I registered will be a darker colour, hopefully none of my number options have been taken?

    (#17 or #56)
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018
    Gravitron and PASM like this.
  3. PASM

    PASM Moderator

    Messages:
    4,518
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Cool. You don't have to add me to race, but you can of course. Color and number is just to inform others. We don't require them to be unique, though it would be nice if everyone respects others numbers and choose one that isn't taken. You can check them in the registration table.
     
    Gravitron likes this.
  4. EDK

    EDK Moderator

    Messages:
    15,815
    Location:
    United States
    I am going to try and make the NA race tonight. I would consider myself a 75% maybe right now.
     
    Gravitron and quentin1974 like this.
  5. Storm_SP17

    Storm_SP17

    Messages:
    3,505
    Location:
    England
    If I was to try and be available for the NA race tonight, without a nap in between the EU and NA races, I will have been awake for 22 hours by the start of the race.
     
    GTP_Nail, andrew1990 and quentin1974 like this.
  6. Speedy6543

    Speedy6543 Moderator

    Messages:
    7,025
    Location:
    Belgium
    Room open
    0474-6023-2845-7787-7060
     
    MadMax and EDK like this.
  7. MadMax

    MadMax Moderator

    Messages:
    4,087
    Location:
    Finland
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018
  8. andrew1990

    andrew1990

    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Had a crash near the end of the race and Speedy got past me. Was showing him as 12th when he went past me, then changed to 6th as he crossed the line. Seen this before in another race when the timing was messing up due to pitstops.
     
  9. Fastas

    Fastas Premium

    Messages:
    1,362
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Second best to racing - watching Pekka’s live stream! Well done guys. Great watch Pekka. :tup:
     
    MadMax likes this.
  10. andrew1990

    andrew1990

    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    My view of the race:

     
    quentin1974, MadMax and Speedy6543 like this.
  11. Speedy6543

    Speedy6543 Moderator

    Messages:
    7,025
    Location:
    Belgium
    Had a great race eventhough I was more racing with guys who had a gap on me. It was all about trying to keep that gap as small as possible.

    Results EU

    Gran Turismo™SPORT_20180117221102.jpg

    Fastest laps

    Gran Turismo™SPORT_20180117222023.jpg
     
    suprajef, quentin1974, PASM and 4 others like this.
  12. Storm_SP17

    Storm_SP17

    Messages:
    3,505
    Location:
    England
    While I'm disappointed that I didn't have the kind of consistency that I'm used to in GT6... I can't exactly complain at my result; especially for a WRS debut!
     
    suprajef, quentin1974, PASM and 4 others like this.
  13. EDK

    EDK Moderator

    Messages:
    15,815
    Location:
    United States
    I would never complain about being the meat in a PASM/MadMax sandwich. :lol:
     
    suprajef, PASM, Fastas and 3 others like this.
  14. Storm_SP17

    Storm_SP17

    Messages:
    3,505
    Location:
    England
    Oh no doubt! However, I wasn't the delicious brisket in smooth gravy that I'm known for. Instead I was a dry, overcooked piece of roast beef. :lol:
     
  15. PASM

    PASM Moderator

    Messages:
    4,518
    Location:
    Netherlands


    Replay of my race. It went great, except for overrunning the entry to the pits :)
     
    MadMax likes this.
  16. mr_lab_rat

    mr_lab_rat

    Messages:
    2,263
    Location:
    Canada
    It looks like I’m gonna make NA
     
    Gravitron likes this.
  17. mr_lab_rat

    mr_lab_rat

    Messages:
    2,263
    Location:
    Canada
    Would you like me to open the room? I’m a but worried about my internet connection for hosting
     
  18. Gravitron

    Gravitron Moderator

    Messages:
    17,330
    Location:
    United States
    NA is going up now.

    0474 6023 8470 1726 5220
     
    MadMax and mr_lab_rat like this.
  19. GTP_randy

    GTP_randy

    Messages:
    1,994
    Location:
    United States
    Got DC'd from PD severs and game is frozen.Now my internet is out. Could be because of the snow and ice i guess.
     
    Gravitron likes this.
  20. Gravitron

    Gravitron Moderator

    Messages:
    17,330
    Location:
    United States
    @oldguy58 (aka Gnome_V8), we might be able to fix that "stuck on grid" bug with router settings. Things were a little disorganized tonight, with the visibility issues. Thank you for understanding, and I hope you try again. :tup:

    NA Quali:

    Gran Turismo®SPORT_20180117191632.png


    NA Race:

    Gran Turismo®SPORT_20180117202412.png


    NA Fastest Laps:

    Gran Turismo®SPORT_20180117233444.png
     
    Ph1sh, Mini Stiggy and Speedy6543 like this.
  21. turnupdaheat

    turnupdaheat

    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    Ireland
    Enjoyed my debut WRS race last night. I'm more of a racer than a time trialist in that I generally prefer to see my competition on the track with me. I'll have to change my approach to time trialing as after the race I decided out of curiosity to do the time trial again and I improved my time by over 4 tenths! As Mr. Honda said "Racing improves the breed"
     
    MadMax, GTP_Nail, Gravitron and 4 others like this.
  22. oldguy58

    oldguy58 Premium

    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    United States
    No big deal, :censored: happens. Oddly enough on my screen I also had madmax and nail stuck on the grid as well. But looking at the results they ran just fine. Oh well.
    :confused:
     
  23. EDK

    EDK Moderator

    Messages:
    15,815
    Location:
    United States
    Did you clear your Cache when you exited?

    Some of the guys think that helps with the stuck on grid thing. And, as Lucas said. Router settings could help.
     
    MadMax likes this.
  24. oldguy58

    oldguy58 Premium

    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    United States
    That's something that we used to have to do on GT6 & ps3. When I switched to PS4 I looked around for something similar and never found anything. When I asked the question in a couple of communities I was basically laughed at and told this is a PS4, there is no cache.
    :confused::confused::confused:

    This is the 1st time l've had a lobby issue in GTS unlike another title I won't mention. Was looking forward to the race. Maybe next time.
     
  25. EDK

    EDK Moderator

    Messages:
    15,815
    Location:
    United States
    I can't recall top of mind where the setting is, as I've only had to do it once or twice.

    But it's there, for sure, in game in some of the settings screens.

    Maybe @Gravitron or @MadMax have the detail more top of mind than I do.
     
    oldguy58 likes this.
  26. Gravitron

    Gravitron Moderator

    Messages:
    17,330
    Location:
    United States
    @oldguy58 in GTS, Options-> Network and I believe the only option in there is to clear cache. We haven't really had the game long enough to know if it's needed before every online race (as we got into the habit of doing for GT6). In my opinion, a better way to go is giving your PS4 a dedicated IP address and then changing your router settings to put that IP address in the DMZ. We've also seen @roamer2629 have this issue a lot, but I believe he got a newer router and did the DMZ trick and hasn't had the problem since.

    EDIT: there's also some router port forwarding that you can setup that is supposed to help Link, but I don't know of any WRS'ers (besides maybe @JamCar0ne ?) who have tried setting that up.
     
    JamCar0ne, oldguy58 and EDK like this.
  27. roamer2629

    roamer2629 Premium

    Messages:
    3,774
    Location:
    Argentina
    Yeah, wired the ps4, set a static IP, DMZ. Problems gone.
     
    JamCar0ne, oldguy58 and Gravitron like this.
  28. mr_lab_rat

    mr_lab_rat

    Messages:
    2,263
    Location:
    Canada
    For non-nerds:
    Port forwarding is a more complicated but safer way of doing it.
    DMZ basically forwards all the ports.
     
  29. Gravitron

    Gravitron Moderator

    Messages:
    17,330
    Location:
    United States
    Who you callin' a nerd, ya geek?! :p Thanks, I never thought to describe it that way. :tup:
     
    GTP_Nail and oldguy58 like this.
  30. oldguy58

    oldguy58 Premium

    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks for all the pointers guys. I think I've got it, you plug the framitz into the whatzit, turn the crank 3 times and do the hokie pokie twice and I should be good to go.:lol:

    I know where to go in the PS4 to do custom network settings but don't know what numbers etc...to use. I'm already wired to the modem. Do I need to gain access to modem to program as well?
    Looks like I've got some homework to do, want to try to get this done this weekend.
    Found the cache thanks to @Gravitron. It is game specific now, that's why I couldn't find it in PS4 menus early on. GTS. wasn't out yet. PS3 it was part of the system not the software.
    :cheers: