Noob help: knowing what class to tune to

• Thread starter Copperbad
  • 10 comments
Hey everybody, first post!

I've never been much for racing games until now. Maybe that's because Forza4 isn't so much a racing game as it is a state of the art physics simulator that happens to have pretty cars in it.

I jest, it's all about the cars. And the cars are the subject of this post.
I'm just beginning to monkey with custom tunes, it's a wonderful experience so far, though a bit daunting. I've read up on the different tuning options and what they influence as far as handling, more experimentation should yield a better understanding.

Until that time, I had a quick question: How do y'all decide what class to tune a car into? I'm a bit lost when trying to decide what a viable option for, say, B class would be, since it can be something tuned up from E or even down from A.

I know when I like a car, and I just need a little help in determining what class that car would be the most efficient in. From there, the finer aspects of tuning can be tinkered with.

If examples would help, I'm big into the 69' Pontiac Trans Am, the Ford GT, and the BMW 2002. If i were to begin i a car that i liked, how would I go about figuring out the "most effecient" class for them to be tuned into?

Thanks for the help everyone! I'm sure I'll have more questions soon
-Copperbad

Welcome to ForzaPlanet. :)

Probably the easiest rule of thumb would be to mind your tire widths; in FM4, tire width makes a world of difference in terms of available grip and handling manners. So while you could tune up the 2002 Turbo into the same range as an upgraded 135i, for example, you'll likely find the 2002 is more difficult to handle, because it's an old car with skinnier tires. Age isn't the sole determining factor, since there are old supercars and new economy cars, obviously; you just need to pay attention to what size tires a particular car can fit.