Project Scorpio Forza 6 Tech Demo Runs at 4K/60FPS With Power To Spare

Discussion in 'Forza Motorsport 6' started by GTPNewsWire, Apr 6, 2017.

  1. GTPNewsWire

    GTPNewsWire Contributing Writer

    Messages:
    8,546
    Location:
    United States
  2. Johnnypenso

    Johnnypenso Premium

    Messages:
    28,424
    Location:
    Canada
    That's impressive. Power to spare.
     
    mister dog likes this.
  3. CTstryk

    CTstryk

    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    United States
    Incredible!
     
  4. ExoticMachines

    ExoticMachines

    Messages:
    618
    So does this mean we can install Horizon 3 game with the new Scorpio console?

    Or do we have to wait until Horizon 4 in 2018 to use with Scorpio?
     
  5. Dsavage27

    Dsavage27

    Messages:
    969
    As far as what I've read it will be able to play and upscale existing Xbox one games.
     
    dozer76, bremics and JDMKING13 like this.
  6. ExoticMachines

    ExoticMachines

    Messages:
    618

    Fantastic news!
     
  7. HuskyGT

    HuskyGT

    Messages:
    3,857
    Location:
    United States
    This is very impressive, but reading this makes me even more scared about Forza 7 on Windows. They will obviously try to push the Scorpio to the max with FM7.

    I can see it coming...

    "GPU minimum requirement for Very Low settings: Nvidia GeForce Titan X..." :lol:
     
    Tajima likes this.
  8. deththrasher

    deththrasher

    Messages:
    201
    It's cool, but not incredible considering a RX 480 can easily run FM6 Apex game at 4k 60fps, which is a $180 GPU.

    It's about what I expected.
     
    Moglet and Dopplegagger like this.
  9. deththrasher

    deththrasher

    Messages:
    201
    FM6 Apex was very well optimised tbh, It was only playground who royally screwed up their port.

    I have faith in T10!
     
  10. HuskyGT

    HuskyGT

    Messages:
    3,857
    Location:
    United States
    Hopefully they have learned stuff from Horizon 3. I don't want to spend more money on a Scorpio that I will probably just use a few months, or computer upgrades!
     
  11. MockngBrd

    MockngBrd

    Messages:
    833
    What no video? BWATAHHAHAHAAGHAGAHHHH
     
  12. Lord Protector

    Lord Protector

    Messages:
    2,751
    Location:
    Slovakia
    is there going to be a Gran Turismo on the Scorpio? Cuz I don't see a point in buying it then :confused::sly:
     
    TomBrady likes this.
  13. Luminis

    Luminis

    Messages:
    9,294
    Location:
    Germany
    So, you're still on PS3, huh? :D

    From what I know, it's still supposed to run on the regular, ol' XBOne as well. And as @deththrasher said, it's not like Apex was as bad, optimisation wise, as FH3. Probably comes with the territory of on-track vs. open world. Found a YT video of the Apex running at 4k and it's managing ~ 120 FPS or thereabouts on a Titan X. That's four times the resolution and twice the framerate I'm aiming for. Essentially, if FM7 is supposed to run at 4k/60 on anything, it can't be that hard to run it at somewhat decent settings at 1080/60 with decent-ish hardware.

    That's what I like to think, at least :lol:
     
    UKMikey, Imari, dozer76 and 3 others like this.
  14. mrPetros

    mrPetros

    Messages:
    576
    Even more impressive is the fact that with full pc ultra settings + dynamic weather, this tech demo reaches mid80's on resources at 4k/60hz.
    And tools are still months away from final release.

    haha nope!
    It can't run at ULTRA settings at a constant locked 60hz. not even gtx1070 can.

    rx 480 ultra 4k video :
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2017
    TomBrady and CTstryk like this.
  15. jm79

    jm79

    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Spain
    Pretty cool they used a driving game to show off the new console.

    The genre is not dying!
     
    Dresden, Losco, FT-1 and 1 other person like this.
  16. ImaRobot

    ImaRobot

    Messages:
    12,304
    Location:
    United States
    Well that's fairly obvious, isn't it? Not even sure why that would need a question.
     
  17. HuskyGT

    HuskyGT

    Messages:
    3,857
    Location:
    United States
    My goal is at least a solid 72fps at 1080p with High settings. It's how I run Horizon 3.
     
  18. deththrasher

    deththrasher

    Messages:
    201
    8x MSAA at ****ing 4k? That's ridiculous, the Scorpio demo was running 2x.

    The RX 480 can do 4k 60fps at ultra on Apex at reasonable AA level, same as scorpio.

    And yes a 1070 GTX can, although AMD performs better in this game.
     
  19. mrPetros

    mrPetros

    Messages:
    576
    Read his report. its per I say above directly above your quotation ;)
    (full pc ultra + dynamic weather (not availble on apex) = 88% resources)
    looks to be a good machine
     
  20. deththrasher

    deththrasher

    Messages:
    201
    Of course it's a good machine, all I was saying was it's about what I expected due to it pretty much having an RX 480 (a great card in the first place).

    Really though 8x MSAA at 4k is insane so not sure why he chose that on a 480. You will always need at least a GTX 1080 to get that running good frames tbh.
     
  21. deththrasher

    deththrasher

    Messages:
    201
    oops double post
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2017
  22. bremics

    bremics

    Messages:
    1,895
    Stray thought, if my guess that FM7 won't have dynamic time of day because of cross play issues between Xbone and Scorpio versions, how much better would it run without having to simulate DToD and DW?
     
  23. willbsn13

    willbsn13

    Messages:
    1,068
    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/d...-motorsport-on-project-scorpio-the-full-story

     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2017
    Imari, JDMKING13 and Fat Tyre like this.
  24. KRATOS8MS

    KRATOS8MS

    Messages:
    63
     
    Fat Tyre likes this.
  25. Dsavage27

    Dsavage27

    Messages:
    969
  26. SlipZtrEm

    SlipZtrEm Administrator

    Messages:
    27,122
    Location:
    Canada
    There's a likely reason for them not being able to show us anything other than B-roll...
     
  27. queleuleu

    queleuleu

    Messages:
    2,767
    Black magic if they can add dynamic TOD/weather on Xbox one.
     
    mrPetros and bremics like this.
  28. bremics

    bremics

    Messages:
    1,895
    I hope they manage to pull it out of their asses, only way I see dynamic TOD/Weather coming to Forza 7.

    They whole "just because we are showing features possible doesn't mean they'll actually happen" seems to imply "just because we're showing dynamic TOD/Weather doesn't mean you're going to get it".

    The whole backwards compatible thing didn't really bother me until I realized after they did this report that Forza 7 could easily have dynamic TOD/Weather and possibly a 32 car grid with that extra power but because of the original Xbone we'll likely get the same grid size and no dynamic TOD/Weather.
     
    Fat Tyre, queleuleu and Dsavage27 like this.
  29. queleuleu

    queleuleu

    Messages:
    2,767
    My main criticism against the Pro and now the Scorpio. Because it's not a new gen they can't add new features in order to keep the platform unity (same servers for all the Xbox players : One, S and Scorpio, same features...)
     
    bremics likes this.
  30. Luminis

    Luminis

    Messages:
    9,294
    Location:
    Germany
    72 FPS? That's quite specific :lol: Well, we'll see how it goes. I'll be building a new computer in early 2018 anyway, so if FM7 is gonna run my current rig into the ground, I'll be sure to come back with a vengeance :tup:
    To be fair, we wouldn't be getting any extra features if there was no Scorpio, so it's not like we're losing out. And, well... That's what playing the PC port of multi platform titles has been like since forever :lol: That said, who knows... Might be possible for T10 to sneak a few Scorpio only features into it. Y'know, might add a little incentive for XBOne owners to get the Scorpio, beyond the draw of 4k.
     
    ImaRobot and bremics like this.