The long-awaited HDR Tutorial from sixtoes

• Thread starter sixtoes
  • 36 comments
sixtoes
sixtoes
HDR and Tone Mapping Tutorial by sixtoes

When I first picked up Gran Turismo 5, I knew that Photomode and Photo Travel would be big draws for me: as a real-life photographer, I enjoy playing with photo and replay modes in various games and I remembered that PD had done a pretty good job with in-game photos back in Gran Turismo 4. What I hadn't counted on was the amazing creativity and out-of-the-box thinking that so many of our GTP photographers demonstrate with their work. One of these bits of creativity that jumped out at me when I first joined GTP and started looking through the photo forums was the use of High Dynamic Range photography techniques.

In my real-world profession, I use HDR photography all the time - more than half of my business is architectural photography, where the use of HDR is a practical necessity. For some reason, though, I hadn't yet considered that the techniques I use in real-world photography would work well in a virtual environment like GT5. But then I came across the HDR photos thread and the light bulb went on - I started working in HDR almost immediately and have since developed a bit of a knack for the process. So much so, apparently, that I was asked to put together a tutorial to help folks learn a bit more about this technique. For those of you who haven't seen my gallery, here are a few examples of my HDR work:

So, even though it's been almost two months since SlipZtrEm asked me to put this together, it's finally here. I hope this will be a helpful resource for the GTPlanet community, and I look forward to seeing the images you all will create using this information. It's a long tutorial - I apologize, but I tend to give long explanations for things. Just ask my lovely and patient wife. :lol:

What is HDR?