GT Academy Grads’ 2013 Programs: Endurance & Formula 3

GT AcademyMotorsports 15 February 26, 2013 by

As part of a large Nissan Motorsport announcement at the opening of the new Nismo headquarters, the most recent graduates have had their 2013 seasons revealed.

The most significant announcement is that of Jann Mardenborough. Jann’s recent experience in the 2013 Toyota Racing Series, where he finished as the series’ top rookie, has been a precursor to a full season seat at Carlin Motorsport in FIA European Formula 3. Jann becomes the first GTA winner to move to a full season at an international, open-wheeled series, hinting at a possible future F1 seat. Indeed Carlin’s graduates include two F1 world champions – Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastien Vettel – the latter of which sits in a Renault-Nissan powered and sponsored car…

Meanwhile the four 2012 graduates, reeling from the news they’re too fast for British GT, find themselves taking over the Nissan Nismo GT-R GT3 Jann has vacated for the Blancpain Endurance Series. Though the specific driving pairings have not yet been revealed, Wolfgang Reip, Mark Shulzhitskiy, Peter Pyzera and Steve Doherty are to drive two GT-Rs in the series. Nissan have also announced intention to race the car in the rejuvenated FIA GT GT3 class, but no driver line-up has been given.

As yet no programmes have been confirmed for previous winners Jordan Tresson, Lucas Ordoñez and Bryan Heitkotter, but watch this space!

Images courtesy of Nissan Motorsport and Toyota Racing Series.

More Posts On...

The original comments for this post are no longer available.

Watch Live: 2020 Logitech G Challenge EMEA Final

Japan Esports Grand Prix Returns With $50,000 Prize Fund

Live Stream: F1 Esports Series 2020 Opening Rounds

Le Mans Esports Series Super Final Starts Today: Watch Live

MSI Esports Successfully Defends 24h SimRacing Title

Watch the 24h SimRacing Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya Live Here

Catalunya Circuit's Virtual 24h Race Starts This Weekend

F1 Esports Teams Reveal Their 2020 Pro Draft Picks, Driver Line Ups