G27/G25/(DFGT?) - Undocumented wheel lock settings - Guide

Discussion in 'Sim Racing Hardware' started by OdeFinn, Aug 2, 2013.

  1. lGNAl

    lGNAl

    Messages:
    986
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    I have the old and new version's of the G27 wheel. I never tried the new version till today. The steering feel's so much lighter. Does anyone own both or have tried both ?? ... Does the new G27 feel lighter ??
     
    TakumiFuji01 likes this.
  2. sagaper

    sagaper

    Messages:
    448
    Location:
    Norway
    If I set the wheel to 240. Will I then run off track, if I sneeze or if I get hiccups. Exaggerating maybe a little, but does it become difficult to make small adjustments to the steering?
     
  3. NABeast

    NABeast Premium

    Messages:
    305
    At 240,All you will need is small adjustments to steer. F1 style. Better react quick,no sneezing.
     
    Serialf likes this.
  4. RodeRuner1967

    RodeRuner1967

    Messages:
    2,079
    Location:
    United States
    I'm sooooooo glad I found this post. I'm deffinately going to try these settings on my G27 as soon as I sign on. I changed some settings this weekend and found it to be better. I have my wheel on Professional, power steering off, force feedback at 8 and sensitivity at 7. Any suggestions or comments with these settings? Any input would be great. I do a lot of road course racing.
    Thanks,
    RodeRunner1967
     
  5. Derek Nickels

    Derek Nickels

    Messages:
    64
    They knew someone would work it out,people sit and do combo's for hours trying to find hidden features,etc. Probably just money saving on printing!lol
     
    andp132 likes this.
  6. NOSWaster

    NOSWaster

    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    United States
    I'm so glad this popped up. I put my G27 into 670 degrees mode and I can drive the X2014 Standard much faster. So much more responsive and stiffer force feedback. It's also a lot easier to turn any car in hairpins now. I don't have to turn the wheel over 90 degrees to either side. Thanks for the great find! :)
     
    Serialf likes this.
  7. PIP_36

    PIP_36

    Messages:
    470
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks so much to the OP for this info!

    I recently modded my G27 and attached a Momo 310mm rim to my G27 base.

    The original G27 rim is 270mm and I am still getting used to driving with the larger rim. By setting my G27 to 450d it has made my 'turning in' and getting full lock so much easier and when it comes to open wheel racing the 240d will be even better still!

    Thanks again for sharing.
     
  8. True-blue-8

    True-blue-8

    Messages:
    6,799
    thanks for this
    however im pressing the buttons and nothing happens
     
  9. NABeast

    NABeast Premium

    Messages:
    305
    Go into a race and then push the buttons. Then check it. Or get into the FGT cockpit view so you can see the front wheels turn easier. Assuming your playing GT6 that is.
     
  10. notanexpert

    notanexpert

    Messages:
    636
    Location:
    United States
    There really doesn't seem to be a spot to put this, but does anyone know of a way to make the shifter stiffer, have a stronger push?
     
    steve nfs likes this.
  11. sherpa25

    sherpa25

    Messages:
    69
    Try searching in youtube, or one like chilicoke's shift resistance mod.
     
  12. TakumiFuji01

    TakumiFuji01

    Messages:
    2,000
    Location:
    Canada
    I notice it too.
     
    steve nfs and lGNAl like this.
  13. timekiller001

    timekiller001

    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Germany
    Unfortunately it does NOT work with my DFGT.
    But if the case is that it only works with new/newer versions, that was obvious. I have mine since 2009 and since you can't update the fw of the wheel manually I'm stuck with it. But there are worse problems in the world ;)
     
    Rotorist likes this.
  14. Rallywagon

    Rallywagon Premium

    Messages:
    7,659
    Location:
    United States
    Hey hey!!! Glad to see this finally got stickied Thanks again for sharing this @OdeFinn !!
     
    OdeFinn likes this.
  15. GTPL_LITECOIN

    GTPL_LITECOIN

    Messages:
    27
    Is it possible to update DF GT firmware? If not i'm gonna sell it and buy a new one.
     
  16. Dragonwhisky

    Dragonwhisky Premium

    Messages:
    5,829
    Location:
    United States
    If you plan to buy a new wheel, upgrade to a G27 or Thrustmaster. I have no idea if DFGT firmware can be updated. Might want to contact Logitech to answer that.
     
  17. GTPL_LITECOIN

    GTPL_LITECOIN

    Messages:
    27
    Thanks for advice. Is it possible to change degrees of rotacion in Thrusmaster on GT6?
     
  18. Dragonwhisky

    Dragonwhisky Premium

    Messages:
    5,829
    Location:
    United States
    So far as I know yes. But I don't know how it's done.
     
  19. NABeast

    NABeast Premium

    Messages:
    305
    It is possible with the mode button,but it resets every time you start a race. So basically it's not really worth trying to change it on the T500. But the feel and feedback is better than a G27. The G27 is a good wheel for the money,plus there are easy mods and upgrades you can do down the road.
     
  20. gazg25

    gazg25

    Messages:
    7
    Logitech G25 / G27 Secret - How to Change Wheel Rotation from 900'- 200' or 2 settings in between...
    For 7 years I did not know this function was available ..
    Logitech left this outta the Instruction book...
    I use this for drifting in GT6 see later in the video for me demonstrating my new found driftin skills lol..

    Top marks for the wheel Logitech still works like new and has been abused by all sizes and ages and still going strong after all those 7 years of play..;O)
    I built my own stand out of some wood in the garage and got some old FIA corbeau bucket seats off eBay...
    Works very well and feels like a real car set up hours of fun better than any arcade machine I've ever played and no coin slot ;O)

    The 4 settings are:
    900' standard
    630' Good for race cars like a quick rack
    450' More like a Go Kart Rack and great for drifting in GT6
    200' Like the old Driving Force Wireless GT force Driving Force EX

    This is also possible on a Driving Force Pro Wheel the predecessor to The G25 and G27 Wheels

    Helps loads with drifting in GT6
    GT5 I could drift quite well on 900' rotation but it seems much harder on GT6 but this makes it fun again ;O)

     
  21. Azure Flare

    Azure Flare (Banned)

    Messages:
    9,894
    Location:
  22. irabbiT

    irabbiT

    Messages:
    214
    But at least he has done it in a new way, also giving some little advise as to what would be best used for etc, as for drifting. Now, I can't drift, and i hardly get any control of my g27.. I been asking around for advise all i get is nothing, as in im having a chat with some-one to find out they got a wheel second i ask they are silent..

    Since watching this video im going to at least try again.
     
    gazg25 likes this.
  23. gazg25

    gazg25

    Messages:
    7
    Since watching this video im going to at least try again.[/quote]

    Had never read that post before now ;O) Just did the vid for youtube as I couldn't find one on there...
    I'll post the vid on that link too ;O)

    Sorry that's news to me a friend told me in an online lobby Just thought I'd share the knowledge ;O)

    Logitech G25 / G27 Secret - How to Change Wheel Rotation from 900'- 200' or 2 settings in between...
    For 7 years I did not know this function was available ..
    Logitech left this outta the Instruction book...
    I use this for drifting in GT6 see later in the video for me demonstrating my new found driftin skills lol..

    This is also possible on a Driving Force Pro Wheel the predecessor to The G25 and G27 Wheels

    Helps loads with drifting in GT6
    GT5 I could drift quite well on 900' rotation but it seems much harder on GT6 but this makes it fun again ;O)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 24, 2019
  24. GTP Red Pill

    GTP Red Pill Premium

    Messages:
    7,463
    Location:
    England
    Does this work with any of the F1 games made by Codemasters?
     
  25. OdeFinn

    OdeFinn

    Messages:
    2,643
    Location:
    Finland
    @VBR works, Codemaster use software radius on wheel, but no lock, with this you can alter lock, then some changes might have needed on ingame settings to get it suitable for you.
    Made big difference on my Dirt games experience.

    @gazg25 your linked video claims at this is working on DFP, some new news to me, good news to DFP owners.
     
    VBR likes this.
  26. Trimaz

    Trimaz

    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Australia
    This is the greatest find. I have found myself now setting the wheel lock directly in game depending on the car I drive. I've had success with Assetto Corsa, Race 07/GTR2, rFactor and even LFS too. It beats setting the profile for the wheel lock in the profiler each time you decide to drive a different car. Three buttons and I'm off with the wheel lock to suit.
     
    VBR likes this.
  27. rubbertoe34

    rubbertoe34

    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    United States
    I bought my DFGT around March, i think. i tried to play the first DiRT once and the steering wheel was at 200 deg. default, i think. i honestly don't know the true degrees, the only way i can describe it is, it turned exactly as it does in the cockpit view in GT6.

    Since that setting was there in DiRT, at least i know it's possible. maybe I'm doing sonething wrong? i have the newest DFGT for sure, bought it this year. it'd be real neat to use the twitchy setting for drifting.
     
  28. d34n

    d34n

    Messages:
    10
    Best thing ever, totally changed the game and i can now drift and control oversteer much easier. Thanks a lot : )
     
    Rotorist likes this.
  29. grog

    grog

    Messages:
    1,238
    Location:
    United States
    No you did a good thing, the video should really help out those who are confused by how to do this.
     
    OdeFinn likes this.
  30. gigio79

    gigio79

    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Italy

    This procedure does not work on console, the only way to change rotation on G27 is an update made by game developpers every time a game comes up.