Patch 2.0 - All Platforms

Discussion in 'Project CARS 1' started by Cmorales1979, Jun 24, 2015.

  1. bleeder

    bleeder

    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    England
    Don't worry too much, the game is really good fun.

    EDIT: double post
    depends on your settings. Highlight the pCARS game icon and press start then check for latest update. It'll tell you there if one is available or whether you've got the latest version already.
     
    sems4arsenal likes this.
  2. ocat1979

    ocat1979

    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Australia
    You on Xbox One? Patch hasn't dropped for it yet.
     
  3. Speedster911

    Speedster911

    Messages:
    4,251
    ^^ I was just gonna ask the same: no date fixed for X1 patch?
     
  4. Blood*Specter

    Blood*Specter

    Messages:
    907
    Location:
    United States
    8
    The PC & PS4 update automatically at least in my case. I use Steam for my PC.
    I think pCARS site has explanation for Xbone.
     
  5. Darragh

    Darragh

    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Ireland
    I don't think I've had any major bugs in my first ten hours of this game. I suppose it's the people with problems are the most vocal. However, I haven't tested a long endurance race or anything yet.

    The only real problem I came across is the random invalidating of lap times in karting for no reason. It's not a problem in the slightest anyways.

    And the AI is pretty perfect for me. I've driven in the wet before and was way off the AI, but that was just before downloading this patch. They're not as aggressive as everyone makes them out to be. If wyou brake too earlier, they might try a move up the inside. But you should be looking in your mirrors anyways. I haven't been put off the road by them at all really. However that's not the same in Karting. They're very aggressive, and I more aggressive in it! It quickly becomes a game of bumper cars lol. Oh actually, that's another problem: every time I bump into the AI from behind, the AI suddenly loses the ability to turn their wheel and end up driving off the road me feeling all bad for them :(

    I don't know if it's programmesd in the AI, but I do feel that if you're aggressive, they'll be aggressive back to you. So, as James May said: Give them an inch, and they'll give you a whole mile.
     
    Crisis Nine, CHEN255 and McKiernan like this.
  6. Jump_Ace

    Jump_Ace Staff Emeritus

    Messages:
    8,393
    Location:
    United States
    Still have the center spring issue and it appears to be just as infrequent as before...maybe 1/20 times? I have still seen crazy fast AI in the HTC @ Monza for example @ level 80 leader was pulling away from me at the same pace I was pulling away from everyone else.

    No real difference in the AI driving in rain from what I can tell. I did a race in the rain, but didn't save and re-did the race with 2.0 and basically the same AI traction in the rain as before. Something tells me they don't want the pendulum to swing back and forth too much (which is fine), so they are adjusting things a little bit as time goes on.

    But with having the AI be adjustable I don't mind the AI issues as much, I've already thrown my affinity level out the window after it was too late and I realized what it was, so I just restart races all the time now to make the AI on my bumper the whole race. It's still better than GT AI if that is even considered AI :lol:


    Jerome
     
    Johnnypenso likes this.
  7. Darragh

    Darragh

    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Ireland
    Yeah, I've already completely given up on getting the over 50% trophy! It's better really just to enjoy yourself fighting for midfield positions rather than doing a couple of dozen races starting and finishing in first for the sake of the trophy. Though that does rule out platinum, but I've never gone near that before in any game anyways!
     
    McKiernan likes this.
  8. Scheer

    Scheer

    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I've had this too. Seems pretty simple to solve just by putting the player's speed into the algorithm. Say, if you're doing less than 20-30mph it's not a DQ. Simple IF THEN statement.
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2015
    FLX1981 likes this.
  9. xeronima

    xeronima

    Messages:
    143
    on ps4. I found that the pit strategy is still broke. Did an endurance race in gt3 at road of America. When I went to pit the pit strategy changed the tire preassure to 2.50 bar (I had set and saved it for 1.85) then I lowered the preassure and continued ob track. Only to find that the tires now stated overheating like no tomorrow.

    Second thing I'm looking forward to is to change the ai different by increments of less than 10% at 80 I was 2-3 seconds faster. At 90 the ai race phase was my qualifying time. So what to pick. Something a bit on the easy side. Or 156 qualifying laps :odd:
     
  10. notanexpert

    notanexpert

    Messages:
    636
    Location:
    United States
    Question, has this update looked at the issue of random gear ratios and other various things changingt? (during tuning) I've not played since day one patch, witcher has been taking my time.
     
  11. Fanapryde

    Fanapryde

    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Belgium
    When using H-shifter I can now downshift from e.g. 6th to 3rd gear in one time,
    Before the patch, the same downsifting would result in the indicator showing 5th gear, while the stick was in 3rd. I had to shift down one gear at the time to get the correct reading.
    So that has been fixed. I never suffered the bug where the car would shift down several gears on its own...
     
    Johnnypenso likes this.
  12. kkdrummer

    kkdrummer

    Messages:
    253
    Crisis Nine likes this.
  13. ocat1979

    ocat1979

    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Australia
  14. psychoazubi

    psychoazubi

    Messages:
    1,427
    Location:
    Germany
    You know that this happens with other developers too? They just don't communicate what is happening.
     
    Johnnypenso likes this.
  15. ocat1979

    ocat1979

    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Australia
    They've ballsed up another patch but it's ok because they told us about it? Obviously their internal testing is severely lacking
     
  16. psychoazubi

    psychoazubi

    Messages:
    1,427
    Location:
    Germany
    What's wrong with you (people)? Developer don't communicate -> they are bad. SMS communicates as much as possible (even if something goes wrong) -> they are bad. Is everything you do perfect on the first try? Sony/MS QA appartement is much bigger than the internal one. Of course such a small studio is not that fast/good as those of the big developers
     
  17. FLX1981

    FLX1981

    Messages:
    2,382
    You make it sound like SMS is 3 people sitting in a shed somewhere in rural England.
     
    blowfishrulez and rclark83 like this.
  18. psychoazubi

    psychoazubi

    Messages:
    1,427
    Location:
    Germany
    Aren't they? :D

    I know the size of the studio and staff size shouldn't be an excuse at all but sometimes I feel that people don't want to believe that they are even trying which is very frustrating. And also the main reason I'm not posting much on here anymore.
     
  19. Johnnypenso

    Johnnypenso Premium

    Messages:
    28,465
    Location:
    Canada
    It's the internetz. Damned if you do and damned if you don't...with some people anyway.
     
  20. blowfishrulez

    blowfishrulez

    Messages:
    1,001
    The fixed patch has already been submitted for retesting.
     
    Crisis Nine likes this.
  21. c172fccc

    c172fccc

    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    Canada
    "What Microsoft found was an edge case we'd not have spotted in months of testing."
    http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?33953-Patch-2-0&p=1040471&viewfull=1#post1040471

    The patch wasn't bugged. They just found a bug that was there since some months and they obliged SMS to fix it now.

    Edit: http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?33953-Patch-2-0&p=1040705&viewfull=1#post1040705
     
  22. bleeder

    bleeder

    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    England
    Interesting that they found a bug with the G920 wheel which is not even out yet and felt compelled to make SMS work it out when there's been numerous different bugs with my T300 since launch but most haven't been fixed yet (such as random loss of FFB, all buttons stop working, wheel rotates to wrong angle on grid). Priorities, y'all.
     
    UkHardcore23 likes this.
  23. wowbaggerBR

    wowbaggerBR

    Messages:
    2,328
    Location:
    Brazil
    Mismanagement of resources and lack of beta testing.
     
  24. bleeder

    bleeder

    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    England
    Yes it's my biggest gripe with the game. All wheels, no matter the make or model and whichever platform they're used for should fully work.

    EDIT: and I don't mean every wheel in the world obviously lol
     
    wowbaggerBR likes this.
  25. blowfishrulez

    blowfishrulez

    Messages:
    1,001
    Zero, none, nada issues with my T300 either on PC or on PS4
     
    G219 and Crisis Nine like this.
  26. bleeder

    bleeder

    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    England
    I could say the same for Driveclub, alas not for pCARS. It's very random though.
     
  27. wowbaggerBR

    wowbaggerBR

    Messages:
    2,328
    Location:
    Brazil
    To be honest, 2.0 improved the game a lot around here.

    But I know what you mean. I've been there.

    EDIT: PS4 + T500RS
     
  28. bleeder

    bleeder

    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    England
    Yeah with that wheel I bet you have! I got off lightly with mine. I've yet to see the elimination of the old bugs with 2.0.
     
  29. psychoazubi

    psychoazubi

    Messages:
    1,427
    Location:
    Germany
    I can say that my T500 is bug free since 2.0 on ps4

    After experiencing some bugs on the ps4, I only played on the pc version so I can't really name all the issues before v2.0
    Right now, I don't have bugs in both versions
     
    Crisis Nine likes this.
  30. bleeder

    bleeder

    Messages:
    3,048
    Location:
    England
    that's good. i did report the other day that i'd been playing for several hours and experienced no bugs at all, with wheel or game, but i have encountered the same ones as pre-2.0 since the patch. i'll put some more hours in, document my findings, then play some more regardless :tup: