Thrustmaster Reveals PS4-Only BT LED Display Unit

Discussion in 'Sim Racing Hardware' started by GTPNewsWire, Mar 16, 2018.

  1. GTPNewsWire

    GTPNewsWire Contributing Writer

    Messages:
    6,957
    Location:
    United States
    super_gt likes this.
  2. Daz555

    Daz555

    Messages:
    330
    I'm a bit puzzled by the suggested location for this thing:

    [​IMG]

    If I put it there I would not be able to see it as the rim will be in the way.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2018
  3. Crazy Taylor

    Crazy Taylor Premium

    Messages:
    2,594
    Location:
    England
    Good for those who dont like the hud then.
     
  4. RacingManiac

    RacingManiac

    Messages:
    1,338
    And the mounting holes of the TS-PC remain unused....lol
     
  5. PzR Slim

    PzR Slim Premium

    Messages:
    5,466
    Location:
    England
    I have an SLI Display that I use on PC in a similar position on my Fanatec wheel and it's no issue to see it through the gap.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Gr8_Lakes likes this.
  6. HarlemG27

    HarlemG27

    Messages:
    178
    Seems over priced with the availability of CUSTOMIZIABLE virtual dashs for a couple dollars, even free.

    My vdash monitors brake temp, water temp, rpm, and mph

    $40 seems reasonable
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2018
    micmansour and potvinsuks like this.
  7. mc0029

    mc0029

    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    United States
    Nice. I'm sure I'll buy this before I build something to raise my TV. :lol: Currently when I use the Alcantara wheel the bottom of the screen is blocked.

    "It’s a little surprising to see GT Sportabsent from the list, given the T-GT is the game’s dedicated wheel. Perhaps BT implementation will be coming in the next update, alongside the new Supra or Audi Vision GT…"
    If this is the case. Really only an issue I have on GTS.
     
  8. Dopplegagger

    Dopplegagger

    Messages:
    1,094
    Location:
    United States
    You look through the wheel, you don't look over it?

    Sorry. I misunderstood you at first. You mean that the wheel rim would possibly block the unit, not that you are looking through the wheel rim to see the screen.

    It's early. I haven't had my Coffee yet.

    I just finished reading the article... €169 and limited to select PlayStation games... Um No thanks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2018
  9. Jack Dulmage

    Jack Dulmage

    Messages:
    153
    Is there even a mounting option for Thrustmaster wheels? Certainly does not seem worth $200 Canadian ...
     
  10. super_gt

    super_gt

    Messages:
    3,279
    Location:
    Bulgaria
  11. Octopuss_911

    Octopuss_911

    Messages:
    26
    I would buy it for 80€, maybe 100€. But it's still too expensive for the couple of racing games supported. Let's wait a bit.
     
    HarlemG27 likes this.
  12. Jack Dulmage

    Jack Dulmage

    Messages:
    153
  13. potvinsuks

    potvinsuks

    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    United States
    I also use those custom dashboards for many of the other sims. However, none of them could be used for GTSport because, they say that it's impossible to implement the GT software into it since it needs telemetry data and since GT doesn't have it, that software can't be used for GT.

    Now, I wonder if this is the same reason why this device can't be used for GTS.
     
    HarlemG27 likes this.
  14. super_gt

    super_gt

    Messages:
    3,279
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Yes.
     
  15. PocketZeven

    PocketZeven

    Messages:
    2,303
    Unless you DIY... All simracing gear is quite expensive. This is a niche product so yes it wont be cheap. I have seen similair LED/LCD kits going for 140-200 for example Leo Bodnar SLI. And thats only the board, without enclosure or cable. The thrustmaster is wireless!
    Please can someone direct me to a cheaper alternative..
     
    Gr8_Lakes and potvinsuks like this.
  16. PzR Slim

    PzR Slim Premium

    Messages:
    5,466
    Location:
    England
    I’m sure you are aware how much more the SLI can do however ;)
     
    PocketZeven and potvinsuks like this.
  17. PocketZeven

    PocketZeven

    Messages:
    2,303
    If im not corrected it should fit on the Ts Pc racer rim. I bought the rim seperately from a member here. I already ordered the LED display from the TM webshop and will give feedback ASAP. I guess since the TS-PC isnt available seperately and the display is ps4 only (for now) they dont have any pressphoto's with the combo.

    Nope not a very technical person. Never really did any research on it since i only play on console. What other functions are there?
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2018
  18. Spitfire77

    Spitfire77

    Messages:
    1,120
    Location:
    United States
    Man I want one.. but that is a bit expensive for me to make the purchase. Will wait and see.

    I always seem to have a little lag on the mobile dash apps so I never used them for shift lights.. maybe it is my setup idk..

    This thing would solve that.
     
    Gr8_Lakes and PocketZeven like this.
  19. DigitalBaka

    DigitalBaka Premium

    Messages:
    3,131
    Location:
    United States
    I'm intrigued but I'll wait for someone here to try it, not like it and sell it for cheap. :gtpflag:

    After they add GTS support...
     
    mc0029 and PocketZeven like this.
  20. PocketZeven

    PocketZeven

    Messages:
    2,303
    I never liked those apps too. LED's are much brighter then a phonescreen. With my old G29 i Could always see the small shiftlights in my peripheral view. With those apps however I really needed to look at the screen directly everytime.

    The G29 supports shiftlight in GT sport. And they are (still) working on full support for the CSL, so maybe support for the BT Display will be added in the future? Would be great, because it is really annoying the HUD in GT sport is always in the centre! My wheel blocks the bottom part of the screen so i cant use the cockpit cam and the only view I can see which gear I'm in is the Bumpercam.
     
    Gr8_Lakes and Spitfire77 like this.
  21. PzR Slim

    PzR Slim Premium

    Messages:
    5,466
    Location:
    England
    Inputs
    - 16 button / 8 rotary encoder inputs
    - 6 rotary switch inputs
    - 2 analog inputs with 10-bit (1024 steps) resolution each - ideal for potentiometer or hall sensor clutch paddles

    With some simple plugins and software utilities you can configure the SLI-Pro to show your optimal rev shift point and extract all kinds of car information to display on the device including RPM, gear, speed, engine temperature, tyre pressures, lap time, lap delta...plus many, many more. You can also connect buttons, rotary encoders and rotary switches to the device to scroll through different information on the LED displays so you don't even have to take your hands off the wheel. The SLI-Pro is also a USB joystick interface so you can use buttons and switches for other functions within your simulator software, such as pit limiter or adjusting the brake bias without even installing any extra drivers. Just connect them up, plug the device into the PC and it will detect the buttons right away.
     
    HarlemG27 and PocketZeven like this.
  22. PocketZeven

    PocketZeven

    Messages:
    2,303
    I believe the rotary encoders can also let you display other information on the display.
    For attachment to a wheel:


    It looks a bit top heavy, but still miles better then the Ferrari F1 Rim



    With the Sparco R383
     
    mc0029 likes this.
  23. FPV MIC

    FPV MIC

    Messages:
    1,138
    That's all well and good but do any of those bits and bobs work on PS4? Or are they PC only extras you can add to it?
     
    PocketZeven likes this.
  24. PocketZeven

    PocketZeven

    Messages:
    2,303
    People forget to mention when your finished soldering, assembling etc. you end up with a €1000+ wheel rim though.
     
    FPV MIC likes this.
  25. PzR Slim

    PzR Slim Premium

    Messages:
    5,466
    Location:
    England
    That wasn’t my point. Someone was claiming the Thrustmaster was good value for money when compared to other products on the market. I was pointing out the products being compared to had more features and hence the Thrustmaster product is fairly expensive.
     
    potvinsuks and PocketZeven like this.
  26. FPV MIC

    FPV MIC

    Messages:
    1,138
    Maybe, but the other products aren't of any use to PS4 owners. Also, you didn't answer if those functions had to be added on, or are included in the original purchase price? I may be wrong with this but, to me it seems as though the inputs are just ports you plug something into, not actual functions. Please can you explain this to me? :)
     
    Gr8_Lakes and PocketZeven like this.
  27. PzR Slim

    PzR Slim Premium

    Messages:
    5,466
    Location:
    England
    An Xbox one controller is no use to a PS4 owner but if a DS4 was overpriced compared to an Xbox controller we could compare no?

    For the price of the Thrustmaster unit you could buy the SLi-Pro unit, a plastic enclosure to house it and a couple of rotary encoders and some buttons and in a couple of hours whip up something bespoke with those additional features that work on many PC games. For what you get the Thrustmaster unit is a little expensive.

    Or you could spend a bit more and do something like this!

    [​IMG]
     
  28. PocketZeven

    PocketZeven

    Messages:
    2,303
    I agree... when you try to assemble a similar product (SLI board, housing, BT Controller) and pay for PS4 license you will end up with a more expensive product. I made the calculations and it would still be more expensive...only the SLI with enclosure (no rotary encoders) is € 200 and you need to take in the time, material etc.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2018
    FPV MIC likes this.
  29. FPV MIC

    FPV MIC

    Messages:
    1,138
    I know what you're saying but first I'd have to find someone to do it for me, then pay them for their couple of hours work to assemble it, so all of a sudden, for me, it's not so cheap ;). This is one of the things the PC community forgets, many of us use PS4 for a reason, plug'n'play... and yes, we do have to pay a bit more for that.

    Edit: I also agree that's a little expensive still, even moreso where I live.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2018
    Gr8_Lakes and PocketZeven like this.
  30. PocketZeven

    PocketZeven

    Messages:
    2,303
    For a mass produced, injection molded retail product it might be expensive. However there isnt a comparable product out there... So yes, you pay a premium... But way overpriced? I dont thinks so. Even if you build one for pc and include all the manhours it will be more expensive.

    It is the same for Fanatec/thrustmaster wheel add-ons. Where some people say its overpriced if you look at the components.... But they dont account 10 hours+ in assembling, soldering etc...especially if you're not an engineer like you and me!
     
    FPV MIC likes this.