Total noob in need of help

• Thread starter veryferry
  • 18 comments
Netherlands
The Hague
veryferry
Dear GTPlaneteers,

I'm having struggles: three days ago I started trying drifting. I first started with a Honda Odyssey, tuned exactly the same way as explained here.
After that I tried a Nissan Silvia S13 and set it up like this. This was even worse then the first, and I didn't seem to keep it straight even if I didn't want to drift :P

I found myself spinning lots of times. I just can't seem to keep it steady or save it from spinning.
I've read that it's found harder to do with a wheel, which I'm doing myself (I use a G25).

Am I a complete noob OR are the cars and settings I used more for the somewhat more experienced drifters?

Now, what I would like to ask is:

1) What's the best beginner drifting car to start learning? (including parts and settings please)
2) What are the best Driving Options to start with? (AT/MT, ABS, Steering Sensitivity etc.)
3) What are the best settings for my G25 steeringwheel?
4) Any other tips to get me started?

Thanks in advance!

No problem! 👍
I'm having difficulties in drifting on GT6 too and have thought, that i'll have to try that sometime too :)

Thanks. I did see you used a ps3 controller with that setup. I use a wheel. Does that make a difference in how I should approach the tune?
Slightly, but i'm not sure on the specifics though. I've never used a wheel so I can't begin to understand where the changes may differ, I do know that drifting on a wheel is a lot harder than using a controller though

Slightly, but i'm not sure on the specifics though. I've never used a wheel so I can't begin to understand where the changes may differ, I do know that drifting on a wheel is a lot harder than using a controller though

I heard that too, but I also heard that WHEN you eventually get the hang of it, it's actually better and more fun :D