GTSport Beta Steering Wheel Experience?

Discussion in 'Gran Turismo Sport' started by Adrenaline, Mar 27, 2017.

  1. OdeFinn

    OdeFinn

    Messages:
    2,643
    Location:
    Finland
    Try this: controller sensitivity 7, FFB torque 6, FFB sensitivity 10
    That first 7 kills your boat feeling, rest just makes it more enjoyable. :)

    Edit: read this and be amazed of your level of FFB feedback.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2017
    aSaNG likes this.
  2. WheelmanSteve

    WheelmanSteve

    Messages:
    355
    TYVM. I'll give it a try.
     
    Matvex and OdeFinn like this.
  3. Does controller sensitivity work the same way in GT6? I think I have misunderstood as to how it affects steering wheels. I would set it lower for higher sensitivity and mostly use 7 if I'm using a normal road car.
     
    OdeFinn likes this.
  4. WheelmanSteve

    WheelmanSteve

    Messages:
    355
    Ok, this seemed to work- quickly got into the 1:45's at Dragon, and good for a podium in my last race. (McLaren 650...) Thanks! (Running no assists- with this change I was able to cut off TCS...) Going to go try the Ring in the Genesis Coupe.
     
    OdeFinn likes this.
  5. OdeFinn

    OdeFinn

    Messages:
    2,643
    Location:
    Finland
    Low values are giving delay to your steering input, high less, 7 = zero delay. Low numbers give feeling like your inputs are delivered thru rubber band to game. So yes it effects on steering wheels.
     
    another_jakhole and Rotorist like this.
  6. GordonS

    GordonS

    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Finland
    Controller sensitivity? Never thought it. I thought that was ony for pad users. Gotta test it out!
     
    OdeFinn likes this.
  7. Raikkonen_WC

    Raikkonen_WC

    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I would like this to. In my playseat, using the brake pedel gives me cramps in my foot. The clutch pedel is more confortable to drive with. So hopefully someone has a solution for this?
     
  8. OdeFinn

    OdeFinn

    Messages:
    2,643
    Location:
    Finland
    There's holes bit further left on pedal mounting plate, move pedals there and throttle and brake are even on both sides of stand center pole.
     
  9. P_eMmO_72

    P_eMmO_72

    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Using T300GTE, FFB was awful first couple of days but is stronger now. Definitely better than GT6 - which I'm still playing - not as good as pCARS/AC on PS4 which in turn are not as good as their respective PC versions due to depth of settings. Would like to see improved wheel cfg in final version but get the impression they won't be making it more complex, car settings screen is simpler than GT6.
     
    Johnnypenso likes this.
  10. Scuderia Paul

    Scuderia Paul

    Messages:
    5,471
    Location:
    Ireland
    I have a T300RS and am hugely disappointed with the FFB in GT Sport. It is greatly lacking in life and I don't have any confidence in the car. For the last 4 days I have changed back to my Dualshock.

    GT Sport is my least hyped game in the series and after playing the Beta I am really not sure whether I will purchase it. Assetto Corsa and PCars2 will bring my racing fix for the foreseeable future.
    Should I buy GT Sport I can see the Livery Editor and Photo Mode being the areas I spend most time.
     
    weedybroz and Johnnypenso like this.
  11. Smoothherb

    Smoothherb

    Messages:
    432
    Hey there, wasn´t around here since GT5, now the Hypetraine hit me, but still sceptical...
    I´m using a Fanatec gt3 v2. Now my question is if I can use it for GT Sport? Works fine with PCars on the PS4.

    Thanks
     
  12. Voxalizer

    Voxalizer Premium

    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I am not an experienced 'Youtuber' but i have made a little video about using the Logitech G27 with a Cronusmax and Gran Turismo Sport. In the video I talk about my impressions and more importantly show how the Cronusmax is setup.

    This device also works with many other wheels, including Fanatec wheels. I also own own a Fanatec CSR Elite and I plan on making a seperate video about that wheel and the cronusmax. The setup however is very similar to that of the G27, so I recommend you watch the video to get an idea of how these things work and what you need to do to get it setup.



    There's also the GIMX, but I haven't been able to test that solution yet. From what I hear from others it works fine as well.
     
    K1LLD0z3R, Johnnypenso and Castrol96 like this.
  13. Castrol96

    Castrol96

    Messages:
    2,544
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks :tup:

    Considering of using this as I have a secondary controller. Cost of Parts together for me may be a fraction from buying a new wheel. :)
     
  14. Johnnypenso

    Johnnypenso Premium

    Messages:
    28,425
    Location:
    Canada
    Good video. Might even deserve a thread all of it's own so it doesn't get buried in this one but you'd have to ask a mod about that. Important stuff for those with legacy Logitech gear.
     
    Voxalizer likes this.
  15. OdeFinn

    OdeFinn

    Messages:
    2,643
    Location:
    Finland
    another_jakhole likes this.
  16. WheelmanSteve

    WheelmanSteve

    Messages:
    355
    Not sure anyone's still watching this thread, but post 1.05, I really struggled. Last night I changed the steering sensitivity to -2 out of sheer frustration, and was pleasantly surprised. (Like, 15 seconds off my Ring time pleasantly surprised...)(G29...)
     
    chrisspeed281 likes this.
  17. PRO_TOO

    PRO_TOO

    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    Germany
    i use the same wheel; T300RS! i was driving with the DS4 a lot the last couple of weeks as i mainly wanted to get the daily car. when i'm in the mood for some good driving i use the rig with t300rs. and yes, the ffb leaves a lot to be desired! its not that there isnt any ffb at all, but its kinda lifeless (minimal) when i compare it to other titles on ps4.
    i hope for some improvement in that regard and some more options to fine-tune the wheel settings in the retail version. stuff like paddle sensitivity, wheel sensitivity, swaping paddles and such...
    Edit: AND the h shifter of course! But only @BrainsBush 's ;)
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2017
    Scuderia Paul and BrainsBush like this.
  18. BrainsBush

    BrainsBush

    Messages:
    2,594
    Location:
    Netherlands
    And the H-shifter (TH8A)
     
    PRO_TOO likes this.
  19. sems4arsenal

    sems4arsenal Premium

    Messages:
    15,377
    Location:
    Egypt
    I think the FFB is better in road cars but I need further testing.

    Currently setting both settings to 10 but yeah the FFB is a real shame. It's not that it's not strong, it's the missing detail.
     
    Imari and Johnnypenso like this.
  20. chrisspeed281

    chrisspeed281

    Messages:
    2,006
    Location:
    Austria
    Thanks a lot for this hint, the G29 works much smoother now :tup:
     
  21. gtrotary

    gtrotary

    Messages:
    38
    I'm using a Logitech G29 with GTS. For some reason the clutch and external gear shifter aren't working. I'm assuming because it is still in beta. Anyone else having this issue?
     
  22. praiano63

    praiano63 Premium

    Messages:
    8,800
    Location:
    Brazil
    I have experienced this after 1.05
    Shifting up or down sometime fail.
    A little amount of brake +- 1/4 of the bar with the foot off the pedal.
    Accel not 100% with my foot down 100% onthe pedal.

    PD have to install the option to calibrate wheel and pedals in the final game.
     
    PRO_TOO and chrisspeed281 like this.
  23. gtrotary

    gtrotary

    Messages:
    38
    So yours actually worked at a point in time? Mine never has.
     
  24. Could you try the strength at 8 and the sensitivity at 2? And then adjust around those settings if it doesn't feel right to you. It could do the world of difference OR not at all. The sensitivity set to a high number doesn't seem to have the effect people expect.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2017
  25. sems4arsenal

    sems4arsenal Premium

    Messages:
    15,377
    Location:
    Egypt
    Interesting, I'll try and report back.
     
  26. ron86

    ron86

    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Austria
    The shifter only works in cars that have an h shifter. Most cars in gt sport have paddles and so you cant use the h hifter on them.
    Also when you change the gearbox on the road cars the get a sequential shifter which means it wont work too. Try a subaru wrx or the genesis with the stock gearbox, there you can use the shifter,
     
  27. krishy_123

    krishy_123

    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Australia
    So I haven't yet been able to play GTSport Beta because Australia isn't able to participate yet, but I had a question. Can the Logitech G29 buttons be re-assigned in the beta? I ask because I have recently done a Handbrake mod on my G29 in preparation for GTSport using the R3 button on the wheel.

    Shameless self plug, by no means a good YouTuber yet, but here is the video of how I did the wiring if anyone is interested:
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2017
    Johnnypenso likes this.
  28. gtrotary

    gtrotary

    Messages:
    38
    Yes you can re assign buttons in the beta.
     
    krishy_123 likes this.
  29. gtrotary

    gtrotary

    Messages:
    38
    Also a question for you, krishy_123

    Do you happen to know if the other buttons besides the L and R buttons are pressure sensitive on the G29? If they are wouldn't it make more sense to use one of those instead of R3 for hand brake sensitivity?
     
  30. Outspacer

    Outspacer

    Messages:
    1,977
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Seems strange to me that more people aren't commenting on this. I thought I'd try with my (T300) wheel again, after getting on fine with DS4. I tested with the TTS at the 'ring. I rather wish I hadn't bothered!

    It took a few laps to crack the code, but essentially if you would've used the full DS travel then turn the wheel about 90 degrees, and for medium stick travel turn about 45 degs. Any turn that requires less input is a bit of a crap shoot - with very minor bends seeming to need more wheel input than expected. Obviously this 90/45 deg tactic only works if you're going at about the right speed.

    It was a huge mental challenge to have half my brain pretend it was using a DS4, and then translate that to wheel movements, but by doing that I did get close to my DS4 checkpoint times (until some bend that looked 'minor' turned out to need 45 degrees turn).

    If turning the wheel doesn't have a linear relationship with the angle of the front wheels, what on earth is the point of using a wheel?!
     
    z06fun, Imari, super_gt and 3 others like this.