Worst GT1 moments in your life

• Thread starter Nero9
  • 32 comments
United Kingdom
UK
NOTE i apologise if there is already a topic like this, close this thread otherwise.

Post whatever happened in your life related to GT1.

My GT1 CD broke in March... :(
gt11.jpg

gt12b.jpg

I haven't actually played GT since maybe 2005 or so, but I remember my worst moment quite well...trying to keep ahead points-wise during the Full Tuning Series (forget official name) at Grand Valley Reversed and Clubman Route 5 II, only to realize I really sucked at these particular reversed tracks and would need to start the entire series over if I wanted to survive. :guilty:

When I first started.

I'm a fairly good driver, I can get top 2% on Forza, so that must mean something. I was pretty confident when I started GT1, so I opened up arcade mode and hopped into one of my favorite cars, an RX-7. I'll give a short commentary of what happened.

"Okay, Grand Valley. There's a hairpin, gotta be careful."
"Speedo's a bit weird, honestly."
"Coming up to the hairpin, and braAAAAAAAAAAAOH MY GOD WHAT."

Spun out immediately. This shocked me. So, what I did was do some license tests. Got silvers on B, so I bought a used Supra and entered a race. Here was the other problem I faced:

"Easy race, I'll just qualify, get pole, and make some money!"
"LAST PLACE ON THE POLE? I'm not that bad a driver!"
Later...
"HOW THE FLYING FOXTROT IS MY SUPRA BEING OVERTAKEN BY A DEMIO?!"

The AI is ridiculously hard, yet stupid. Crash into me, spin me out, then beat my RX-7 with a Starlet.

The thing is GT1's physics are really wacky compared to what we've got going on nowadays, which is why it may seem difficult at first. GT1 was cutting edge back in the mid-90s, though.