Car for a drifting noob ?

• Thread starter Bail
  • 109 comments
Bailg
Hello,

I'm new to drifting and would like to learn how to well drift basically, but what car is best to learn in? My budget at the moment is 100K or under.

Thanks.

Amuse S2000 Street Version (found in the Used Lot), or any non-racing S2000 if you're having trouble finding that one.

S13 Silvia is a good choice, Sileighty will work but has a pretty different feel from the Silvia, if it pops up in your used lot grab it so you can try them both out. And FC3S could work or FD3S could work, but I don't feel they're quite as good for just starting out as the others. Drifting involves a lot of personal preference though, so you might take to them right away.

Avoid overpowered cars as they'll teach you to rely on power to break traction. The AE86 is, surprisingly, another I would suggest avoiding. It's not nearly as beginner friendly as you'd expect.

I'd go (Front/Back) Sports Hard/Comfort Soft or Comfort Soft/Comfort Medium starting out. People run all sorts of tire setups. I used to never run different fronts and rears but now I do.

Edit: DO NOT GO WITH THE MIATA, I really hope 0wnage was joking when he said that :P

I'd go for the s13 , comfort hards and a mid range turbo and you'll be laughing, then you can upgrade it to the level mines at and it can hit some serious angles and speeds :)

i think a general rule of thumb (for me at least...) is an FR car with close to or more than 400hp... you dont need 400hp to drift, i just find it easier to hold a big drift... I currently use a nissan 300zx twin turbo with about 490 hp... i think most people would agree that almost any mid 90's Japanese FR car with more than 300hp has the potential to be a pretty good drift car, but more classic cars, like the Toyota Corolla GT, Nissan 240sx, or Nissan Silvia would be great to start out with... In the end, it comes down to personal preference, so try a few cars out and see what you like best.

Hello,