Multi-monitor support in GT6?

Discussion in 'Gran Turismo 6' started by Jope_Fin, May 19, 2013.

  1. Dragonwhisky

    Dragonwhisky Premium

    Messages:
    5,829
    Location:
    United States
    Hmm. Ok. 2 things I noticed on that list that I'm not doing. UPnP on my PS3 is disabled and I have BGM running. Although in online lobbies I never get my BGM, I get PD's. Will change those things and see if it helps anything. I could have sworn I read somewhere to turn off the UPnP.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2014
  2. GBO Possum

    GBO Possum Premium

    Messages:
    2,382
    Location:
    United States
    Make sure everyone else in the lobby is abiding by these rules.
     
  3. Dragonwhisky

    Dragonwhisky Premium

    Messages:
    5,829
    Location:
    United States
    Just checked my router settings and it appears UPnP is enabled but the PS3 states, when connection test is run that UPnP is Not Available.
     
  4. GBO Possum

    GBO Possum Premium

    Messages:
    2,382
    Location:
    United States
    JogoAsobi likes this.
  5. Dragonwhisky

    Dragonwhisky Premium

    Messages:
    5,829
    Location:
    United States
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2014
    ProjectF likes this.
  6. GBO Possum

    GBO Possum Premium

    Messages:
    2,382
    Location:
    United States
    Wow. Beats me. Sorry I can't help.
     
  7. ara

    ara

    Messages:
    106
    Hey guys, here is a new multi monitor video of an online spec race, I am testing out a few different things. I start in 7th and finish 3rd.

    - cycle different camera view every lap
    - wide angle view with the camera closer to actual eye position while driving
    - 1080/60fps
    - anti-glare panel over part of the left screen.


    Looks like I have to work on the ambient lighting.

     
    ProjectF, BMWilli, GBO Possum and 2 others like this.
  8. GBO Possum

    GBO Possum Premium

    Messages:
    2,382
    Location:
    United States
    Has anyone heard of someone "stitching" together videos from a capture of three screens in GT?

    I have recently bought a video capture device, and I had this idea of running a replay three times, capturing each screen's video content from a replay, and editing them together side by side. So far, I can't find software which would do that.
     
    poumpoum likes this.
  9. BMWilli

    BMWilli

    Messages:
    8
  10. adrianhettich

    adrianhettich

    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi just wondered how all of this work.
    Triple screen = 3 tv's 3 ps 3 and 3 gt6 but how you synchronise it?? Via internet? Or there's a connection between them?
     
  11. BrandonW77

    BrandonW77

    Messages:
    12,017
    Location:
    United States
    You can do it through the built in wifi or through a regular router/hub, no internet required. One ps3 feeds a signal to the other ones, it's actually all quite simple in practice. And once it's setup it's pretty much as easy as starting up the game. :tup:
     
  12. adrianhettich

    adrianhettich

    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you but all this effort and money spend and all of it depends on router?
    Not for me but thanx anywY
     
  13. GBO Possum

    GBO Possum Premium

    Messages:
    2,382
    Location:
    United States
    I use a simple 4 port (3 used) Ethernet switch connected to my router/modem. If the router dies, which in my experience is highly unlikely, the system keeps going using the switch. The reason for choosing to use the switch is twofold. One is that allows me to have just one cable going from my racing rig to the router, the other is to save router ports. Oh, and a switch is very cheap and very reliable.
     
  14. BrandonW77

    BrandonW77

    Messages:
    12,017
    Location:
    United States
    I don't understand the problem. What's wrong with a router or switch or hub?
     
  15. adrianhettich

    adrianhettich

    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Most of my time in gt is on online series, if I understand it properly connection is via router or wifi, problem will come in peak time where signal is weak and still it have to split in to 3 consoles.
    If you race online you know that lagging by someone on track won't bring any good. On last race one guy was lagging that much that he caused damage to three cars in 30 secs. And lag was huge, aprox. 30 metres jump
     
  16. GBO Possum

    GBO Possum Premium

    Messages:
    2,382
    Location:
    United States
    You say "router or wifi", these are two entirely different things. If you are using wifi to connect your PS3 to your router, you can expect less than optimal performance. Go wired! And race with wired people only.

    When using multi screen, only the server PS3 is communicating over the internet connection. The clients only communicate with the server.
     
    adrianhettich likes this.
  17. BrandonW77

    BrandonW77

    Messages:
    12,017
    Location:
    United States
    No, the side monitors have no effect on the network/online performance of your gaming. Mine aren't even logged on to the internet, they're just sending a simple signal locally through the router.
     
    adrianhettich and GBO Possum like this.
  18. ara

    ara

    Messages:
    106
    By request:




    I will take other car or track requests time permitting.
     
    ProjectF, poumpoum and BMWilli like this.
  19. BMWilli

    BMWilli

    Messages:
    8
    an open question I still have. makes sense to use a "gigabit ethernet switch," or is a "fast ethernet switch" is sufficient for the 3 ps3?

    rico greeting from germany
     
  20. GBO Possum

    GBO Possum Premium

    Messages:
    2,382
    Location:
    United States
    You don't need gigE.
     
  21. GBO Possum

    GBO Possum Premium

    Messages:
    2,382
    Location:
    United States
    New sub-topic.

    Has anyone tried using multiple 3D TVs with either GT5 or GT6?

    I'm guessing the result could be confusing when objects span the gaps between the screens, but if it works without causing nausea, it could be quite exciting?
     
  22. BMWilli

    BMWilli

    Messages:
    8
    it runs. genial!
     

    Attached Files:

    sagaper, GBO Possum and BrandonW77 like this.
  23. Haiej

    Haiej

    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Mozambique
    Some new additions to the Triple 93" projection screens setup !!

    Recently installed on the Playseat Evolution:
    - Thrustmaster T500RS wheel/pedals set
    - TH8RS 7-speed manual shifter
    - Playseat SeatSlider and Floor Mat

    Old Logitech G25 set, owned since 2007, has been retired to a portable WheelStand Pro, for living room or multiplayer sessions.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Below some videos of PS3 GT6, in triple screen (rough footage captured with a Galaxy S3 phone)






    Below some sketches from the planning phase (in 2011-2012)
    [​IMG]

    The triple screens are in a half-hexagon shape, Angle of Screen Curvature of 120 degrees, with a Screen Angle value of 69%, just like in the Gran Turismo official Support page.
    So if the viewer sits in the center of the hexagon, and everything is aligned, it is close to 180° surround display.
    [​IMG]
     
    JoaoSilva, ProjectF, GRAN007 and 13 others like this.
  24. BrandonW77

    BrandonW77

    Messages:
    12,017
    Location:
    United States
    Good lord. :drool:
     
    Hayden, Haiej and GBO Possum like this.
  25. GBO Possum

    GBO Possum Premium

    Messages:
    2,382
    Location:
    United States
    Even with passenger seating. Jaw dropping!
     
    Haiej likes this.
  26. JogoAsobi

    JogoAsobi Premium

    Messages:
    2,578
    Crazy!!!!!!! :crazy:
    :drool: :drool: :drool:
     
    Haiej likes this.
  27. BrandonW77

    BrandonW77

    Messages:
    12,017
    Location:
    United States
    Here's my latest contributions.

    Notice how you can see/feel the elevation change.

    image.jpg image.jpg

    Some fun with a buddy

     
    ProjectF, GRAN007, Haiej and 2 others like this.
  28. ara

    ara

    Messages:
    106
    Here is another experiment where the camera is mounted to my head as I avoid opponents online. It surprised me how much I spontaneously lean through the turns.

     
  29. GBO Possum

    GBO Possum Premium

    Messages:
    2,382
    Location:
    United States
    I do it too, and it even feels like it helps the car's stability in corners! Sure, I know it's not possible.
     
  30. pingpong

    pingpong

    Messages:
    3
    Hi all

    I am running GT6 multi-monitor on 3 22" screens that I took from my old flight-sim/sim racing setup, and it runs great. I love it and can't stop playing.

    I think the game runs very smoothly since I decreased the vertical FOV, which means there is less of the world for each PS-3 to render. (I learned alot about FOV from setting up a sim racing rig). I am using a T500rs with the Basher Brake Mod Pedals and the Ferrari Rim.

    I did notice that you need to have a true gigabit ethernet switch, I started with a 100mbs switch and the screens would stall/pause, un-sync, and render very slowly especially on some of the more demanding races with lots of AI, all those problems were solved by switching to an gigabit hub.

    I was thinking one day to put all the PS3 into a dedicated box so that all the cableing gets hidden, but that is down the line, this thing is like having a high end arcade racer in your home! I love it.
     
    BrandonW77 and GBO Possum like this.