Richard Burns Rally - RSRBR 2016

Discussion in 'Console & PC Gaming' started by richiem2282, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. Franjo

    Franjo

    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok I figured it out how to stop the flickering, and have the HDR Mod along with the GT5 hud mod. Before I only could have one or the other since both use the d3d9.dll. So basically you would be overwriting it, thus removing one of them.

    I had two copies of d3d9.dll. One was for the HDR Mod, The other d3d9.dll was for the GT5 hud. I couldn't have both on the same time.

    Here's how to fix that

    Rename one of the dll's. In my case I left the HDR mod to d3d9.dll, and I renamed the GT5 Hud dll to d3d9h.dll.

    Go to your enbseries.ini file in your game directory and edit it

    Here is the original:
    EnableProxyLibrary=0
    InitProxyFunctions=1
    ProxyLibrary=

    I changed it to:
    EnableProxyLibrary=1
    InitProxyFunctions=1
    ProxyLibrary=d3d9h.dll

    I now have zero flicker, GT5 Hud and the HDR Mod.
     
  2. richiem2282

    richiem2282 Premium

    Messages:
    536
    RSRBR 2012 UPDATE 04 IS LIVE

    http://forum.rallyesim.fr/viewtopic.php?f=351&t=12341

    Changes:
    - New Track Foron by Mato22
    - New Track Foron Revrese by Mato22
    - New Track Foron Snow by Mato22
    - New Track Foron Snow Reverse by Mato22
    - New 3D for Subaru Impreza (A8W-99 and A8W-00) by Maximum
    Old skins applied on these cars are not supported
    - New 3D for Ford Focus (A8W-08, A8W-09 and A8W-10) by Maximum
    Old skins applied on these cars are not supported
    - New 3D FIAT Abarth 500 (R3) by david74
    Old skins applied on this car are not supported
    - Citroen DS3 R3T (R3) by david74
    - Twingo R2 (R2) by david74


    Note:
    After the install of this update you'll must re-download and re-install
    These cars packs
    A8W-99, A8W-00, A8W-08, A8W-09, A8W-10, R2, R3

    http://forum.rallyesim.fr/viewtopic.php?f=371&t=2967



    Enjoy!
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2012
  3. MadRR

    MadRR

    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks for the news. I've been slacking lately I haven't even done update 3 :lol:. Just been busy on iracing haven't had a chance to fire up RBR in a couple weeks. I got a CSR elite wheel a few weeks ago and haven't even tried it on RBR yet.
     
  4. alvin23a

    alvin23a

    Messages:
    1,325
    Location:
    Australia
    Heres one of my first runs on RSRBR 2012, I haven't played in ages so I really need to get used to it again.


    http://youtu.be/ioNZZamqu4k




    Sorry I can't remember how to embed the video!
     
  5. Zero7159

    Zero7159

    Messages:
    497
    The Elite works very well with RBR. Force feedback is amazing!
     
  6. MadRR

    MadRR

    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    United States
    Cool deal I'm sure it is! I had the regular CSR before and it was pretty good with that so I know the elite will be much better. I've just been lazy and haven't felt like setting up the new wheel in RBR lol.
     
  7. Zero7159

    Zero7159

    Messages:
    497
    Just played it this morning. It's amazing what they did with RBR. A game that was ahead of its time?
     
  8. Wilbur

    Wilbur

    Messages:
    2,186
    Location:
    United States
    I hate to bring up a somewhat dead thread, but better than starting a new one.

    I am thinking of buying this as I'm slowly getting into sim racing and only have experience with iracing.

    I have followed Dirt series heavily, and main reason I upgraded to 360 years ago for that game alone. I just want something I guess more real, but that I can play on my PC.
     
  9. Bigbazz

    Bigbazz

    Messages:
    3,218
    Location:
    Wales
    RBR is one of the most punishing sims out there, it's definitely oldschool but definitely still good considering, and still the most accurate rally sim. Though It definitely falls into the "harder than real life" catagory of simulation game.

    If you go into the game with the approach of knowing you have to learn slow and being very gentle and skilled with the throttle (you can't floor it like in Dirt 3) you will be ok. If you approach this game like you would Dirt 3, expecting to be able to jump in and drive fast you're likely to have a "throw controller at wall" frustrating experience.


    With that said, it is awesome. Just don't expect an easy ride.
     
  10. Wilbur

    Wilbur

    Messages:
    2,186
    Location:
    United States
    I might just have to buy it for pure learning of it.

    I basically went from NASCAR 2011 to iracing and didn't jump in just nail the gas.
     
  11. KookiBirb

    KookiBirb Premium

    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    United States
    If you like iracing, I'm sure you'll love it :)
     
  12. Wilbur

    Wilbur

    Messages:
    2,186
    Location:
    United States
    I love Iracing, even when I mess up or have issues!
     
  13. MadRR

    MadRR

    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    United States
    I highly recommend RBR as well. It's like iracing, but for rally as far as the physics and handling goes. A real sim. Like iracing it just takes some getting used too. Just take it slow and build yourself up. The game is old but with the new mod packs it makes it like a new game.

    I got into pc racing with iracing a year ago and got RBR about 2 months later after missing playing rally games on ps3. Glad I went ahead and got it because it's great. Never want to mess with a ps3 rally game again. I just wish I had more time to play it.
     
  14. richiem2282

    richiem2282 Premium

    Messages:
    536
    RSRBR 2012 - UPDATE 05 is live

    http://forum.rallyesim.fr/viewtopic.php?f=351&t=12840

    Correction in physics for :
    Pack Group_B :
    - Metro 6r4
    - Ford RS200
    - Lancia S4
    Pack N4_S2000_2 :
    - Skoda Fabia S2000 evo2
    Pack R3 :
    - DS3 R3T
    Pack R2 :
    - Twingo
    - Fix for Sweet Lamb

    NOTE:
    After the install of this update you'll must re-download and re-install
    These cars packs
    A8_1
     
  15. MadRR

    MadRR

    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks for keeping us up to date richiem. I still haven't done update 3 :lol:. I did get on the other day and do a few stages after watching the Finland rally. It's been a few weeks since I played last and the first time with my new CSP V2 pedals and only the 2nd time with the CSR elite. I keep forgetting how fun and good this game is. Especially with the elite. I had the regular CSR before and it was good of course, but the elite gives such a better connected to the road feeling that the cars are a little easier to control. Just seems the steering inputs are much more precise. I've never registered for an account I just always click on the "Play Alone" button in the RS center. I'm assuming you can register and play online if there are others racing?
     
  16. richiem2282

    richiem2282 Premium

    Messages:
    536
    Thanks MadRR, its a pleasure brother! I actually haven't touched it myself for a while. Installed the updates but unfortunately my Fanatec GT3RS finally gave up a few weeks back after hours and hours on GT5 and RSRBR. Have a GT2 wheel coming next week. I was thinking about their new wheel and base but I really can't justify paying over $700 just for a wheel so the GT2 will have to do for the next few years. I always play Alone too, I like RSRBR but I don't think I'm in any way competitive. How are you liking those new pedals? I have the first Clubsport.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2012
  17. MadRR

    MadRR

    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    United States
    That sucks about your wheel. I had a ps3 friend that had a GT3RS crap out on him a while back. I'm not sure if you have got your GT2 on the way yet or not, but personally I would go with the regular CSR wheel over the GT2. I've owned both myself. I might have got a bad batch because I have a friend in a iracing league I'm in that had his GT2 for over a year now and no problems, but I went through 2 GT2 wheels in 2 months time. The first one only lasted 4 hours and the next one just 2 months. Both had the same problems. Fanatec warrantied both wheels, but after the second one I requested the CSR wheel instead of a 3rd GT2.

    As far as performance goes the CSR is a much better wheel I think. I personally didn't care for the wheel rim on the CSR vs the GT2 at first, but it's much lighter so the force feedback is stronger and smoother. The weight of the bigger plastic wheel and buttons along with all the alcantara on the GT2 makes it heavier dampening out some of the force feedback compared to the aluminum rim on the CSR. The paddle shifter on the CSR and CSR elite are miles better than on the GT2. On the CSR they are separate from the wheel and have a positive click unlike the GT2 where they are just buttons on back of the wheel with paddle screwed to them.

    I do like the new V2 pedals now that I have got used to them. It took me about a week. I had the V1's like you before and used them for close to a year. I'm still tweaking them though, but they are a good upgrade over the V1's. The brake and clutch are the biggest improvements as the throttle is the same other than coming with the 20% stronger spring stock. It has the R/C car shock on the brake as I'm sure you know. I'm looking to upgrade with a better shock and spring and also want to change the pedal throw some. There is a tuning kit supposedly going to come out for the V2's, but I might try and find one for the V1's if I can to hold me over. Overall I like them, because of being able to change so much on how the brake feels with the shock and the more realistic feeling clutch. Just waiting for the next batch of CSW wheels and rims to come back in stock in September and I'll be good on wheel and pedals for awhile :).
     
  18. richiem2282

    richiem2282 Premium

    Messages:
    536

    The GT2 is arriving on Monday, I saw a review of the CSR, it's not bad, If I get problems with the GT2 I might ask them to send me the CSR instead, hopefully it'll last though. What settings are you using in RSRBR?
     
  19. MadRR

    MadRR

    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah hopefully your luck will be better than mine. Here are the wheel settings I use in RBR.

    Sen= 270, Normally I have it off and set to 900 degrees in the driver for iracing.
    FF=100
    Sho=100
    dri=004
    ABS=off
    Lin=000
    dea=000
    spr=0
    dpr=0
     
  20. richiem2282

    richiem2282 Premium

    Messages:
    536
    Thanks MadRR, let you know how it goes!
     
  21. G.T.Ace

    G.T.Ace

    Messages:
    9,952
    Location:
    Germany
    I'm so confused with this stuff, so I have one question.
    I need to buy the original RBR and this is a "normal" mod for it right?
     
  22. richiem2282

    richiem2282 Premium

    Messages:
    536
    Yep, that about it. Buy the Original on Ebay, Amazon or even on torrent. Its only a $10 so I bought the original. Then, create a new folder called RBR on your C: drive and install the game onto the new RBR Folder. Once that is a done, then you can install the RSRBR Mod to that same folder. Franjo did an excellent detailed install on the 1st page of this thread. Here you go, Enjoy!

    Found this for you:
    http://www.amazon.de/Ubisoft-Richar...72WC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1344797820&sr=8-1


    :tup::tup:

     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2012
  23. G.T.Ace

    G.T.Ace

    Messages:
    9,952
    Location:
    Germany
    Alright, thanks, just wasn't sure of the original game is free now, since people often act like that...
     
  24. mekonrider

    mekonrider

    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I re-installed for the first time in years at the weekend (as I to reinstall everything due to some unrecoverable hibernation state nightmare) and just wasn't feeling it.

    It's not the fact it's obviously a lot harder than most driving games, it's the fact the tarmac stuff just didn't feel right to me. Is there any sort of FFB mod for the game as it really doesn't feel like anything I'm currently playing (simbin stuff, GT5, sometimes iracing, LFS, Project Cars....NFS or anything)? Even the FWD stuff feels like a RUF Yellowbird to me. Normally I'd say I'm just crap but I can usually get in the top couple of thousand in GT time trials so I'm not terrible.
     
  25. neema_t

    neema_t Premium

    Messages:
    8,337
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I have read that FWD cars in RSRBR are pretty much hacked; because they can't just disconnect the rear differential or increase the power to the front beyond a certain amount, they had to turn the car around, set the VCD to full rear (which is now the front) and adjust the gear ratios so that there are four, five or six reverse gears and one forward gear. This is why the handbrake locks the front wheels, but I imagine this means they're rear steering too, which is just bizarre. Maybe my source (a comment on nogripracing.com's forums that wasn't disagreed with) is totally wrong but I can believe it, the engine was never meant for FWD or even anything other than AWD after all. Anyway, that would probably explain the rear engined handling of most cars. As for everything else, I guess we just have to hope WRC 3 has decent feedback and physics because we have nothing else on the radar at this point. There may be feedback mods but I would've thought they'd be incorporated into RSRBR like the camhack and a couple of other useful mods were.

    Edit: looks like I'm mistaken, it seems that the RWD cars are reversed FWD, not the other way around.
     
  26. richiem2282

    richiem2282 Premium

    Messages:
    536
    Great settings MadRR, just ran about 10 gravel stages with the new GT2, man I love this Sim, Good to be Back on RSRBR again!
     
  27. MadRR

    MadRR

    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    United States
    Awesome :tup:. Much difference between the GT3RS and GT2?
     
  28. richiem2282

    richiem2282 Premium

    Messages:
    536
    I know its the same hardware but it does feel a lot better on RSRBR in comparison to the GT3, whether its your settings or the wheel, its a smooth ride. Off thread topic for a minute, I can't seem to get the wheel to work right on the PS3. Every time it calibrates, it off to the left by several degrees and won't center if if I calibrate it. Any ideas? Thanks MadRR!
     
  29. MadRR

    MadRR

    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah I'm sure the GT2 wheel itself is a little better than the GT3. I was just curious because I've never used a GT3. The settings could have helped some as well.

    I probably can't be much help for getting it to work on the ps3. I only hooked the GT2 I had to my ps3 once for 30 minutes for some GT5 and other than that one time I just race on iracing and RBR. Have you checked the firmware on your wheel to see if you have the latest? I'm not sure what firmware is the latest for the GT2, but the wheel is an older wheel now so the one you have could have an older firmware on it and need to be updated and that could be causing the centering issue. You do have it in ps3 mode correct? I would maybe post in the main fanatec thread in the sim racing hardware section and someone there can probably tell you better than me.
     
  30. richiem2282

    richiem2282 Premium

    Messages:
    536
    Thanks MadRR, I'll have a look. I know they have a new Beta Firmware but I'm not trying that until it's official...