Gran Turismo Sport "Garage Full" Bug Affecting New Players

Discussion in 'Gran Turismo Sport' started by Piscariello, Nov 29, 2019.

  1. roimar88

    roimar88

    Messages:
    1
    Do all of you having a problem with "garage full bug" have Lobby error as well?
    Does deleting saved data fix that problem?
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2019 at 7:51 AM
  2. Sejan85

    Sejan85

    Messages:
    1
    I have been experiencing the same issue and even if I try to get access to granturismo online it crashes completely.
    I have also a few issues with my PS4 pro with a few restarts happening when I try to traverse the menu fast it freezes.
    When I play motogp19 sometime it freezes too.
    It is unbelievable! I was feeling dumb that I was not finding the garage menu guys!
     
  3. TurboTacho

    TurboTacho

    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Singapore
    Did you try rebuilding PS4 Database?
     
  4. mynameis66

    mynameis66

    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Anybody?
     
  5. Famine

    Famine Administrator

    Messages:
    67,023
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    The issue seems to be centred on people creating new GT Sport profiles, and I think specifically those creating new profiles and playing offline while the game installs updates.
     
    Nuschel01 likes this.
  6. mynameis66

    mynameis66

    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Appreciate the reply.Thats what im hoping is the case,i dont want to delete my save and start from scratch again so i`ll see what happens after ive swapped the hd over,if this problem occurs then i`ll wait for a patch before installing again.Cheers.:cheers:
     
  7. Kimberleeeyyy

    Kimberleeeyyy

    Messages:
    1
    Hey all! Was having the same issue. Garage full and after acquiring cars was unable to view in garage as wouldn't load. Deleted saved game from ps4 but not update and created new game and all works ok now. Just fyi.
     
    imported_rik19 likes this.
  8. Nuschel01

    Nuschel01

    Messages:
    3,490
    Location:
    Germany
    I always wait for updates to install as I see no point in playing a game that‘s not updated, especially when it‘s one where you have to be online.
     
    imported_rik19 and fastone371 like this.
  9. Patclash

    Patclash

    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    France
  10. ButtDyno

    ButtDyno

    Messages:
    9
    "Please note that if a game with the affected Save Data file is started with Update 1.50 installed, then the Save Data file will not be recovered with the next update."

    Can someone translate this? It kind of sounds like we have to delete bc the next patch won't repair the file.
     
  11. Famine

    Famine Administrator

    Messages:
    67,023
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    So, as I suspected earlier, here is how the issue occurs.

    - Player gets new game/starts game for first time on console.
    - Game starts to update, offers player chance to play some of it while it's installing updates.
    - Player takes chance. Player can only play offline bits - campaign mode.
    - *Save File Created*
    - Game fully updates
    - Game cannot read save file created in old game version (1.19 or earlier) properly

    The solution is
    - Delete save file, start over again
    - Reject server-side save file
    *new v1.50 save file created*
    - Go at it again

    The patch will fix the issue with reading older save game files, so that as of 1.51 this won't happen again, but it will not fix game saves that have been booted up and experienced the issue in 1.50.
     
  12. GTPNewsWire

    GTPNewsWire Contributing Writer

    Messages:
    9,206
    Location:
    United States
    AgentBlackDog and J24681357 like this.
  13. ss3

    ss3

    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    United States
    I really hope this update will also fix the Lewis Hamilton Time Trials for some people
     
  14. GordonS

    GordonS

    Messages:
    1,075
    Location:
    Finland
    Hi! What's wrong with it at the moment? :confused:
     
  15. ss3

    ss3

    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    United States
    Some people aren’t able to play it after purchasing it, I’m one of them
     
  16. GordonS

    GordonS

    Messages:
    1,075
    Location:
    Finland
    Ok, sorry to hear that.
     
  17. mynameis66

    mynameis66

    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    So,to part quote the gt planet article"...The bug seems to arise with brand new installs of the game, and it’s affecting anyone who is updating the game from v1.00 — either an original copy or a Greatest Hits version — without any existing player data on the console...."
    When i re-download the game from the ps store onto my new hd it will be version 1.00,how do i prevent the issues that other people are having?The bit about not having existing player data on the console,do i simply put my original GT sport game save from a usb stick back onto the ps4 before i download the game?Or am i simply overthinking it....lol
    The last time i played gtsport was on 29/11/19 when i purchased the supra and filled in the survey and everything worked fine then.
     
  18. Nuschel01

    Nuschel01

    Messages:
    3,490
    Location:
    Germany
    Just don‘t play while the game updates in the background, that‘s the only reason this issue arrived to so many players. They were just too impatient :D
     
    fastone371 likes this.
  19. mynameis66

    mynameis66

    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Never done that.Ive always gone and done something else whilst i wait for a game to download or install fully.Better safe than sorry.
     
    fastone371 likes this.
  20. Famine

    Famine Administrator

    Messages:
    67,023
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    All the people I've seen with this issue have bought the DLC from a different regional PS Store than their game region. That's never worked, and won't ever be 'fixed' because it's by design.
     
    fastone371 and eSZee like this.
  21. ButtDyno

    ButtDyno

    Messages:
    9
    In my case I don't even think I entered a race. I watched the intro videos and at some point I got a Genesis.

    It's baffling to me that in 2019 the list of cars you have / your savegame isn't completely in the cloud.
     
  22. ss3

    ss3

    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    United States
    Ahhh makes sense. Thanks. do you think buying another copy would fix it while keeping my data?
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2019 at 4:40 AM
  23. Famine

    Famine Administrator

    Messages:
    67,023
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Your save file would have been created by booting the game up, even before you set the display settings.
    Your best bet would probably be to just buy the LHTTC DLC from the store that matches your disc. I don't know how your save file would react to a new disc that matches the DLC's region, but I imagine not well.
     
  24. Darwock

    Darwock

    Messages:
    208
    There's another possible solution to that one, not sure though as the circumstances sound slightly different...

    I used to play a US copy of Lego Dimensions on my Japanese account. I bought US DLC to match my US copy. When I tried to access the DLC content in my Japanese account game save it said it was not available.

    The fix was to log in to the US account, go into account management and 'activate as primary console' for that PS4. That allowed the different region DLC to be used on my main account.
     
  25. Famine

    Famine Administrator

    Messages:
    67,023
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, all accounts on a console set as "Primary" for the account that has bought any content - games, add-ons, DLC - get access to the content.

    However in this case the DLC does not match the region of the disc. If you bought a disc that matched the DLC and booted it up on another account, then set that as primary, that would allow access to the DLC...

    ... but you'd need to reinstall the game completely from scratch (opening yourself to the bug this thread is about) and run the game on your main account off that new disc. How an existing, established game save would react to an entirely new install/disc from a different region... *shrug* Can't imagine it'll be "Yeah, no problem, let's carry on" though.
     
  26. imported_rik19

    imported_rik19

    Messages:
    1,872
    Location:
    England
    Hope this is sorted soon for the new players, must be disappointing beyond belief i know i wouldn't be happy...

    Stick with it guys its a great game...
     
    sirjim73 likes this.
  27. stupidstormy36

    stupidstormy36 Premium

    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    United States
    Well, I guess was right as far as junk or garbage data is concerned (or unreadable formats in this case). The "garage is full" might be a catch all when the game tries to access the data, but fails for one reason or another (PD seems to be using proper checks to prevent the game from crashing at least).

    1.19 is the update that increased the garage size to 2000 cars, so that could very well be a factor here.

    Glad to see PD is on top of this, unlike some other developers these days.

    Link to official webpage: https://www.gran-turismo.com/us/gtsport/news/00_4822774.html
     
  28. ss3

    ss3

    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    United States
    Sorry @Famine for all the questions. If I made a new account on my PS and set that account as a country that would match my disc, go to the PS Store and buy the content. Would that work on my other account. Because I did that previously for GT content
     
  29. Famine

    Famine Administrator

    Messages:
    67,023
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    If the console you're playing on is activated as that new account's primary PS4, yes.
     
    ss3 likes this.
  30. mynameis66

    mynameis66

    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Regarding the message about the coming update to fix the issue,what does this statement mean:`All users whose Save Data file was last updated before Update 1.19 (May 5 2018.)`
    Surely everybody who plays the game will have updated there game since may 2018?If you havent updated since 1.19 then you cant play online or save any progression?Or am i misunderstanding something....