PC Assetto Corsa PC Mods General Discussion

Discussion in 'Assetto Corsa' started by Thom Lee, Apr 28, 2014.

  1. xezez

    xezez

    Messages:
    455
    Thanks unpierrot :cheers:
     
  2. safi hellie

    safi hellie

    Messages:
    911

    It's pretty amazing to be able to get in deep and so close to what 'drives' the physics in a sim.
     
    Real Toonces likes this.
  3. Fall Guy

    Fall Guy

    Messages:
    530
    Location:
    Germany
    I love the feeling AC gives me, for instance the issue with the non-working headlights on the Porsche 2.7 from Bazza. Everyday I try to do a different car and track combination, do some hotlaps and track days and have a look onto the track and the car. And if there is some discrepancy I try to fix it. Also learning from the amazing community we have here. Get grassFX working or setting up headlights is no longer a rocket science for me. I don´t need another sim for ages on my PC. :tup:
     
  4. megolito

    megolito

    Messages:
    222
    Aston martin vantage AMR 2020
    https://mega.nz/#!UVERlQAa!KwcT6vv-PyhGUNUJ3-cC9b-wyUgriTEUF0TAhmfCU-M
    Version 0.7 of 1.0 physics are nearly done. If the skins suck it's because i made them. they should improve soon hopfully.
    lots of the data is from aston martins page on the car, i even found the exact differential power/coast and gear ratios. and the engine is exact, including the less torque the AMR makes because of its fragile manual gearbox. and i added shift animations.
    Please give any feedback on the car, so far nurburgring time is 7:23 on cup 2 R tire
    upload_2020-1-15_5-26-38.png upload_2020-1-15_5-27-57.png upload_2020-1-15_5-28-22.png upload_2020-1-15_5-28-46.png
     
    LeGeNd-1, EnjailleuR, manu12 and 7 others like this.
  5. PR0JECTNR56

    PR0JECTNR56

    Messages:
    80
    URD's Darche EGT1 EVO is out! (Porsche 911 GT1 Evo 1997)

    __custom_showroom_1579085195.png

    Purchased right on release, drives nicely, looks grand and the sounds are absolutely on the spot.
     
    Natan5, manu12, panozmax and 15 others like this.
  6. Turnup

    Turnup

    Messages:
    307
    Fractor 2 is expected to have the most votes.
    It 's really the best forcefeedback today.
    But, iRacing, unwarranted little, I think it should be second place. Probably among voted users simply little use of iR.
     
    POV likes this.
  7. MrB00

    MrB00

    Messages:
    1,789
    Nope you're definitely not alone with this. I see a mod I haven't got..I'm downloading it and adding it to my list even though I know I'll probably never use it. Or it just ends up being used once and assigned to the bin unless it really is a good one lol. Also making skins has become my thing so I spend more time reading up on how to do something or trying to make a skin only to delete it and start again cause I messed up or learned something new. Either that or I'm on here chatting and reading all the posts lol.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
    sirjim73, jpcxn, megolito and 5 others like this.
  8. gergerger

    gergerger

    Messages:
    269
    I often find myself supervising my 1500 cars, one by one, fixing whatever I can fix (mostly texture updates, since it's kinda my thing), only to let all cars sit there. Right now I'm doing what I can hopefully consider my last round of checking and fixing stuff, also doing those helmets overlays. When all that is over, maybe, just maybe, it will be time to enjoy the game.
     
  9. portakal

    portakal

    Messages:
    359
    I too realized this a while back. My time was %90 modding/tinkering and %10 actually racing. My cars and tracks list was more of a collection than categorized grids.
    Now I'm going Fanapryde's route of installing (almost) only racing cars. I tend to remove a mod immediately after testing if I don't like it.
    Safi Hellie made a suggestion a while back about using grid presets. I found it very useful. Without presets, I forgot about packs/grids I have anyway.
     
  10. MrB00

    MrB00

    Messages:
    1,789
    I've never used grid presets and have no idea what they are lol....I have a mixture of street cars and racing cars as I like to drive both, and in fact when I do drive on AC I tend to gravitate towards driving street cars unless I am actually doing some racing.
     
  11. Patrick Ellis

    Patrick Ellis

    Messages:
    224
    Took the words right out of my mouth. Although I'm more of a lurker around here :p

    I've been considering starting over with my install though, and only limiting myself to the cars and tracks that I actually use. Would surely free up some disk space, if nothing else. But then I think about how pointless that would be, because I'll continue downloading every new car or track that I see. The addiction is real!
     
    xedos6 and MrB00 like this.
  12. gladbecker82

    gladbecker82

    Messages:
    1,458
  13. portakal

    portakal

    Messages:
    359
    For example, when Rollovers released their IMSA endurance mod I created a preset for it. When I select it, all cars appear as opponents.
    Here's a how to in MS Paint glory:
    upload_2020-1-15_16-28-32.png
    Other possible presets for AC:
    DTM Classics
    DTM 2008
    TCL Legends
    Super GT (If I can manage to BoP the cars though)
    WTCR/TCR etc.
    Various F1 seasons
    Legion's packs (like FIA 2004)
    And many other ideas...
     
  14. xedos6

    xedos6

    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes / Yes! The CM is much, much better than the original game! Incidentally, I also succumbed to addiction! I no longer count my cars and go the other way: my PC only belongs to AC! I relegated everything else to my laptop!
     
    Sokinawa and MrB00 like this.
  15. Cote Dazur

    Cote Dazur

    Messages:
    3,493
    Location:
    Canada
    You are entitled to prefer any FFB for any reason that make you like that particular FFB when driving a SIM. That would make that preferred FFB the best for you.
    However the question for the vote is not which FFB is best, it is which FFB is more realistic. So when driving a real car which FFB in a SIM is closest to that feeling. If your wheel in your car feels more like what a SIM wheel feels when using RF2 than when using AC then if you voted for RF2 being more realistic your vote represent what you believe, congratulation.



    or get a bigger disk.:D
     
    Elio92 and Patrick Ellis like this.
  16. MrB00

    MrB00

    Messages:
    1,789
    I've never looked at that bit.....cheers for pointing it out.
    There's just so much good stuff in CM and I'll probably never use it to it's full potential!!
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
    safi hellie and portakal like this.
  17. Fanapryde

    Fanapryde

    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Belgium
    OK, I'm a bit lost/confused here :rolleyes:

    If I add these skins to the car (I followed the @ELEMENT1999 instructions to have only 1 numberplate showing in preview and showroom, which worked fine for all included skins) ---> I get two numberplates: a Blancpain #23 and a Weathertech #12 or 14 (no endulights because the change of kn5 as instructed/suggested).
    In game: cars show both their respective #12 and #14 Blancpain numberplates, no endulights
    preview_o.jpg
    Now:
    If I add these skins to a newly installed Lexus (without changes to car/skin/extensions) ---> I get two Blancpain #23 numberplates for each skin in showroom/preview, both skins show endurance lights too.
    Ingame: the #12 has one Weatertech #12 numberplate and the #14 has one Weathertech #14 numberplate, both have endulights.
    preview_n.jpg
    This is the first time ever I stumble upon this kind of issue...


     
    Natan5, Plaguss and megolito like this.
  18. r23

    r23

    Messages:
    27
    Fanapryde likes this.
  19. gladbecker82

    gladbecker82

    Messages:
    1,458
    for me its only the normal skin, i have all others gone now, with the config file. i didnt do anything with my kn5 at all.
    Screenshot_lexus_rcf_gt3_acc_daytona_2017_15-1-120-1-1-55.jpg
     
  20. Fanapryde

    Fanapryde

    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Belgium
    Well, yeah, as I wrote, in game it is normal, like in your picture. But the way I fixed it following the tip about the especially included extra kn5 files worked for all the included skins, sadly not for the ones you made. I tried removing the ext.config ini, replacing it with the one from the other skins, no luck...
    I just noticed others on RD have the same issue.

    Edit: forgot to say: also tried adding @slider666 solution: no luck.

    Edit2: @MrBoo provided me with a WIP kn5 that made it possible to make previews for the new skin. The other kn5 works for previews for the original skins. Let's see how new skins to come will act upon this.

    What a mess this car is !
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
    Kran and MrB00 like this.
  21. Cote Dazur

    Cote Dazur

    Messages:
    3,493
    Location:
    Canada
    You are not alone being concerned by spending too much time collecting and not enough enjoying the driving. I have changed my habits about 3 month ago after realizing that car collecting was getting in the way of my driving.

    Instead of downloading either new car/track or update and use them, I just store them, not even in my cars folder, separate drive with a special indexing. I still try a few, but not often. The reason I store them is that I see what is happening presently as a flood, flood don't last. So by storing, when the volume of new mods for AC will trickle, I will dig back in my vault and play with them at my leisure, therefore insuring the right mix of driving and mod exploring.
     
    panozmax, xezez, megolito and 3 others like this.
  22. Real Toonces

    Real Toonces

    Messages:
    289
  23. Real Toonces

    Real Toonces

    Messages:
    289
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
    J_Chaim likes this.
  24. Fanapryde

    Fanapryde

    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Belgium
    As I wrote, I've never been there IRL, but going by the info I can find, these chicanes are used since 1999 to date ?

    combe.png
     
    safi hellie, Real Toonces and MrB00 like this.
  25. MrB00

    MrB00

    Messages:
    1,789

    [​IMG]

    I messed with the kn5 in 3dsimed and deleted the numberplate objects...exported a new kn5 and just replaced the one in the main Lexus folder.

    Number plates have now gone lol
     
    Fanapryde likes this.
  26. MrB00

    MrB00

    Messages:
    1,789
    Yeah it's always had the chicanes as far as I'm aware. Well it did when I went round it and that was in 1999 I think.
     
    Real Toonces and Fanapryde like this.
  27. Real Toonces

    Real Toonces

    Messages:
    289
    In psychoanalytic circles it's called 're-arranging your sock drawer.'
     
    Beezer215 likes this.
  28. Real Toonces

    Real Toonces

    Messages:
    289
    Like I say, the pre-'99 track was a joy; the modern, speed-bump version...not so much.
     
  29. Fanapryde

    Fanapryde

    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Belgium
    Ah, I agree there. But that is a sad thing that happens on many other 'modern' tracks I'm afraid.
     
    MrB00 likes this.
  30. Real Toonces

    Real Toonces

    Messages:
    289
    As you can see from the illustration, the gray lines are the original layout. I've never understood the purpose of chicanes. The argument that adding more corners slows the cars down and is therefore safer falls apart when you realize that corners are where (and why) 90% of the accident happen.
     
    MrB00 likes this.